Trip up North

by Michele

We went up north this weekend to visit Ted’s parents.  We have been trying to see them every 3-4 weeks so that my boys, who are very shy, learn to be comfortable with Grandma and Grandpa Yoder.  They are going to have a 2 1/2 week vacation there this summer when Ted and I are in China picking up Jenna and Quinn.  Usually when we see Ted’s parents, it takes Ryan a long time to warm up to them and throughout the whole visit, Ryan prefers to stay close to us.  Well, our plans are starting to pay off, because within 2 minutes of arriving, both Luke and Ryan were running off with Doris and Jason and didn’t care where Ted or I were.

We even decided to up the stakes this time.  Ted and I took a day trip leaving Luke and Ryan behind on Saturday. We headed out to Foston to visit some of our friends who just adopted a baby, the cutest chubby baby I have seen in a long time (mind you I am partial to my babies but that has been a few years ago already which is why I can safely say he’s the cutest chubby baby right now).  We headed home so that we could help Doris put our kids to bed if she was having problems.  When we arrived around 9 pm Doris had our kids already asleep.  Apparently, Ryan was so tuckered out that he had a very hard time staying awake for supper and nearly nodded off several times since they had all played so hard during the day.  Doris said they had to play a very active game of hide and seek just to keep the kids awake until bedtime at 8.  Thanks Grandma Doris and Grandpa Jason.

One funny thing happened this weekend and I really wish I had a picture of it, but I don’t.  It was really wet and all of the trails were muddy and full of puddles.  As we were walking down the trail, we came to a large puddle covering the entire path.  It was the kind of puddle an adult could easily jump over with a small run.  However, my boys have never really had much practice jumping over puddles. (They do have plenty of practice jumping IN them.)  Anyway, I decided to try and toss Luke over the water and then I was going to jump with Ryan in my arms.  When I tossed Luke, I tried to push his back enough so that he was upright when he landed.  I figured he would run through the landing and be just fine.  Well, he landed on the other side of the puddle with both feet together (not into a running stance).  He then proceeded to tip backwards like a big log and plopped back first into the puddle.  He was soaked from his head to his toes.  He was not happy; however, that didn’t stop Doris and I from laughing hysterically.  I don’t think he is going to trust me throwing him over a puddle again anytime soon.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

