The Girl’s Room

by Michele

For the last month and a half, our family has been working on getting the nursery changed over to the girl’s room.  It was a little sad for me because I have so many memories of me sitting in that room, staring at the wallpaper border in the middle of the night nursing my babies back to sleep.  But I felt like a change should be made.  These girls are already 20 months old, not a baby so….down came the baby wallpaper border.We wanted to bring in some pink but I thought a whole pink wall might be a bit much for this boy orientated family.  We struggled for a long time on what to do.  We decided to try just a pink strip.  To make sure we were not totally off of our rockers, our next door neighbors came over to check our design out.  Their 9 year old daughter approved of the pink strip but final approval will have to come after everything is on the walls.  So we moved on to getting them beds.  The debate of 2 cribs vs 2 twin beds.  After about 1 month of going back and forth, we decided that they were old enough to hopefully move into twin beds.  So the construction begins.

Things are always a bit crazy when a 4 1/2 year old and a 2 1/2 year old are helping you out but we managed to survive.

With the beds assembled, it was now time to pick out our bedding.  Trust me that took another month of deciding.  I wanted some pink but not too much pink.  Well all said and done, here is what the room looks like. Notice the room is complete with fairies (that is from a certain youth group girl that wants to make sure we raise these girls as girls and not tomboys).Ted really wanted to do something with their names and I really wanted to use some Chinese lettering on the wall so we decided to put their first first name on the wall.  Yes, they have two first names.  Sheng Chun and Sheng Jie.  Sheng means holy so we thought that was a good symbol to put on the wall…Holy.  I am not much of an artist but I think it came out ok.

There you have it, the girl’s room.  We are still missing a few things like an extra set of sheets for the beds and waterproof mattress covers.  But that should not be too hard to come by.  And there are a few more projects we want to get done before we go to China but this is one big project that has come to an end.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Girl’s Room

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow! Looks great! Good work!
    I love the chinese lettering too.

Leave a Reply

