Blue Angels

by Ted

$25 for Tickets

$16 for French Fries and Corn Dogs

$12 for Ice Cream and Frozen Lemonades

$12 for a Souvenir Airplane

Spending a hot summer afternoon watching the Blue Angels with my son…

PRICELESS

Today Luke and I saw airplanes do things that they are not supposed to be able to do.  They climbed straight up into the air, rolled over and came tumbling back down – seemingly out of control – before pointing their nose to the ground and pulling back out of their dive.  We even watched little airplanes tumble end over nose.  If you haven’t seen it before, it is really quite a sight.

Late in the afternoon, the Blue Angels of the US Navy stole the show.  Luke and I cheered really loud for plane #4 since that matched the number on his souvenir.  He even spent his own money on his plane and is extremely proud of it.  In fact, I’m pretty sure he is sleeping with it tonight.

I just about pooped my pants this afternoon, when one of the jets came zooming in at full throttle from behind us and zoomed over our heads without us knowing it was coming.  I knew they would probably do that at some point in the show, but I still wasn’t ready for it.  Luke was much braver than me and said it didn’t scare him.  However, he was very eager to go home right after that happened.  We left the show before it was all the way done because Luke was ready to go.  We slowly walked out to the van.  Luke lead the way because I was still too busy watching the show.  All I kept hearing was, “Come on daddy, Come on.  Let’s walk faster.”  I keep on asking him but he continues to say he was not scared at all.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Angels

  1. Cammy K says:

    I really enjoy your posts. What I great thing for a kid to experience. I wanted to be a pilot ever since my Dad let me take a ride in a 4 seater when I was 8. It was 2 cents per pound or believe me he never would have done it. 🙂

  2. Doris Yoder says:

    Aw, Lukey! He wants to be a tough man, methinks!

Leave a Reply

