Travel Plans

by Michele

Well, we finally did it.  We got tickets.  We are flying out on July 4th and coming home on July 19th.  It is a mixture of emotions:  excited, nervous, scared, guilty.  Now some of you might be thinking, “Why would I be feeling guilty?” Well…

These past months I continued to tell Ted that I want some time to sight-see before we pick up our kids.  He wants limited time because he thinks after we get to China, he wants to get our girls right away, it has been a long wait (more then 9 months) and he is ready to see their faces in person.  I agree with him, I am ready to see my kids too, but I also think here are a few days alone with just Ted and me.  Trust me, this is not going to happen again for a very long time.  But now I realize that every day that I have for sight-seeing in China without my girls also means one more day away from my two beautiful boys at home.  I know one or two days away from my boys is not a big thing but the total trip is 16 days long.  One more day just seems to be so much more time away from my two smiley boys.  I have talked a lot with the boys trying to prepare them to be away from us for that long but all I can remember is last year, when I spent five days away from them at camp with the youth from our church.  When I came home, Ryan refused to talk to me for three days.  Ryan even had Ted the whole time I was gone.  I know we have done every bit of preparing that we can do, and ultimately it is in God’s hands from here on out.

Anyway, for those of you who are interested, our schedule is:

Wed – July 4th afternoon:  Say good-bye to my boys and board a plane to China at 2 PM

Thur  – July 5th 11:20 PM: Land in Beijing.

Fri/Sat – July 6-7th: Sight-see.  I want to go to the Great Wall of China, the Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square, and Temple of Heaven

Sun – July 8th: Fly to Nanning, Guangxi.  Guangxi is the province where our girls are located.

Mon – July 9th: Gotcha Day – Go to the Civil Affairs Department in the afternoon and meet/get the girls.

Tues – July 10th:  Adoption Day – Go back to the Civil Affairs Department and fill out adoption registration (paperwork).

Wed/Thurs – July 11-12th:  Sight-see in Nanning.  I am hoping to go to the location where they were found.  There is a small possibility we could spend some time with the foster mom who has raised these girls since they were 5 months old.

Fri – July 13th:  Pick up girls’ passports and fly to Guangzhou

Sat – July 14th:  Get medical exams done and visa photo taken for US consulate

Sun – July 15th:  Free day

Mon – July 16th:  Consulate appointment in morning.

Tues – July 17th:  Pick up girls’ visas in the afternoon

Wed – July 18th:  Take a train to Hong Kong

Thurs – July 19th:  Fly home.  One leg of our journey is 15 1/2 hrs on a plane.  I am a bit nervous about this with two new girls.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Plans

  1. Katie L. says:

    So close! I can understand your hesitation about leaving your boys for that long of a time, but not only have you and Ted prepared them but God has too and will be with them! We are excited for you!

  2. Cammy K says:

    May God bless you all and take away your fears. I wish I were you but without the stress. He will take care of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

