Baby Shower

by Michele

Last night my church put on a baby shower for us.  We got a lot of 24 month/ 2T summer clothes which was awesome.  Back in Feb., someone had given us all the clothes that their girl had outgrown.  It was mostly long sleeves and some summer 18m clothes.  Since I don’t know if the girls are going to be in 18m, 24m, or 2T clothes, I kind of want a stash of 24m and 2T summer stuff.  Last night my summer stash doubled, we really appreciate all of the cute outfits (and bonus, there is two of everything, yeah!).  We also got sets of bed sheets, dolls, blankets, travel money and a much needed car seat.

On a side note, when I came home last night I started chatting with a web friend.  Her daughter is in Nanning with our girls.  She will hopefully be traveling soon also.  Anyways, she has a friend who is in Nanning this week getting their newly adopted daughter so of course I have to go read the entire blog with pictures to see what we will be doing in 26 days.  Just reading about their Gotcha Day makes me tear up.  Their gotcha day went really smoothly.  The husband traveled by himself to pick up their girl.  The first afternoon, during their initial meeting, their new daughter recognized her new mama who was watching via Skype.  She got super excited and ran up to the computer saying mama…mama!!  She even said “I love you mommy” via Skype (everything in Chinese of course).  I half laughed and a half cried as I read it, imagining how my first meeting may or may not go.  Several days later, their daughter isn’t really grieving too much; however, she gets very nervous and cries whenever they leave the hotel room, because she worries she might get handed off again.

I wish there was a better way to transition these orphans to their forever families.  I wish there was a way we could protect their little hearts and souls.  Knowing they will have to go through this emotional process is heart wrenching.  I’m praying that our girls will have a smooth transition and the emotional toll on them will be as small as possible.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

