Islands

by Ted

Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers who are reading this. I spent the day popping balloons to find messages from Luke and going on a treasure hunt that Ryan helped plan.  We found some very delicious ice cream bars hidden in the freezer at the end!!  They were quite delicious!!

But most importantly, I learned that today, Father’s Day, is all about islands.

This afternoon my family took me out biking on a trail in Owatonna that follows the river down to Lake Kohlmeier.  At the end of the trail, on the southeast side of the lake is a tiny little island that is only big enough to have 2 or 3 picnic tables.  There is a pretty little bridge spanning about 30 feet that runs from the boat landing out to the island.  After we parked our bikes and watched somebody launch their boat in the lake Luke and Ryan were very excited to run across the bridge and explore.

So how does a simple little bike ride to explore an island define Father’s Day?  Well, it all came down to one very simple, innocent question from Luke as we crossed the bridge.  “Daddy, what’s an island?”

Like any good father, I explained to Luke what an island was and we walked all the way around to be sure that the island was in fact completely surrounded by water.  During that time I was reminded what being a father is all about.  It is just like our pastor said in his sermon this morning:

Being a father is about passing on everything you know to your children.  This includes simple things like riding a bike, blowing a bubble, sweeping the floor, or like in my case – knowing what an island is.  But is also includes much more important things like our morals, beliefs, and love for our God.  I was lucky.  I had a wonderful Dad who passed on his love for God and his unshakable faith to me.  I also learned from him that being a Christian doesn’t mean going to church on Sundays.  It’s about having a real relationship with a very real God, who knows who I am and hears me when I laugh or cry.  This is the same God who wants me and lets me know who He is too.   I don’t pretend to be everything my Dad was and still is, but I know what it looks like and with God’s help I try my best.

Today my prayer is that I can do the same for my two sons.  And just as importantly, that I can pass that same faith and love onto my two new daughters who I will get to meet in just a couple of short weeks.  I am very excited for that day, but also a little nervous at the same time.  Now I have not just 2, but 4 little minds and hearts to be responsible for.  Will I really be able to love them and teach them the way God wants me to?  The way my father did for me?  I pray that I will…

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Islands

  1. Doris Yoder says:

    Ah, Ted, so well spoken. You are a gift to your family, first to your Dad and me, then to Michele, and now your children!

  2. Samuel Yoder says:

    Commendable, heart warming, just what we need in time and culture !!!

  3. Jason Yoder says:

    Well said. Thanks for the kind words. Being a father is a big responsibility.

  4. Elaine says:

    I love this. it is beautiful to me to see this kind of fathers.

Leave a Reply

