He Is Our Son

by Michele

Ted, Luke and I were well on our way to becoming the model “Left Brain” family.  We have pizza on Tuesdays. We do laundry on Thursday.  We make bread on Fridays.  We eat French toast on Saturday and grilled cheese on Sunday.  The basement is vacuumed on odd weeks, the upstairs on even.

Luke fit right in at a very young age.  He took apart our kitchen table before he was 1 and put it back together.  He fixed our computer mouse last week (he is almost 5).   He loves to do puzzles, mazes, etc.  His attention span is ridiculously long for how old he is.   And a kid after my own heart, he loves to sort things like my laundry.

Ryan on the other hand is a totally different kid.  A “Right Brained” kid.  Someone that Ted and I have tried to relate to but let’s just face it, Ryan functions differently then the three of us.  I mean he does puzzles by starting with the middle pieces, he doesn’t even try to sort out edges from the middle.    Ryan sings non-stop and I really mean non-stop.  He will sing himself to sleep, wake up in the middle of the night and start singing, sing what he wants to eat, sing while he is pretend playing.  He sometimes forgets where he is in the middle of a song so he just starts a new song.  This drives Luke crazy because Luke wants Ryan to finish the song all the way before moving to the next.  We try really hard not to smash Ryan’s creativity and different way of doing things.  But then last week, Ryan did this….

We could have gotten mad because he got out all of the toddler puzzles and dumped them.  But Ted and I smiled…he was lining them up according to puzzle.  Order in the midst of chaos, a kid after my own heart.  What would I do without my kid who can always make me smile with his cuteness.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He Is Our Son

  1. Doris Yoder says:

    Chuckling here…Janet Emerson calls left and right brain, the “lines and columns” and the “blobs and splashes.” Look at that pattern, he has organization in that “blob and splash” pattern. I love it!

Leave a Reply

