Why did we choose adoption

by Michele

A few weeks ago, Luke and Ryan were playing with all of the stuffed animals in the house (trust me we have a lot).  Their game…well, they were the Blue Angels (fighting jets).  Their mission…. save all of the stuffed animals from one side of the room and move them to safety at the other side of the room.  Jenna and Quinn were the first two they saved by stuffing them up their shirts, flying –  complete with motor sounds and swords in hands – to take out any obstacle (the cat, sofa, and plant) that comes in their way.  They then returned to the other side of the room to finish saving all of the other people (stuffed animals).

No, I will not abandon you as orphans-I will come to you.  John 14:18

People who know me know that I try my hardest to protect the environment, God’s creation.  The Lord God placed man in the Garden of Eden to tend and watch over it.  Genesis 2:15  We are to protect God’s creation which includes the Earth and it’s resources.  I think this is one command that Christians seem to overlook or don’t think is very important.  In our world of over-consumerism, it is very easy to buy new and just throw away the used and old.  People laugh when I dig through trash to pull out recyclable things.  I try really hard to minimizes things we throw away even if it means friends make fun of me for bringing my own dishes to lunches.  I know there are ways to improve on what I do and I try to add a new thing each year to become more environmentally friendly (this year…rain barrel and composting).  But another command that has always been on my mind is adoption.  One because of my brother.  I loved what he brought to our family, how he added to it.  He was always the first one in my family to support me and protect me.  I think God used him to plant the seed of adoption in me.  Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.  James 1:27  I think for some people that step is to adopt, others it is to lend financial aid, and others to pray.  When I met Ted, I told him, I think on our second date, that I wanted to adopt someday, that was what was placed on my heart.  If he wasn’t open to that, he might as well walk away and not waste any time dating me.  However, Ted was, and has always been a very compassionate and caring person.  He didn’t even have to think about it, but said yes to my request (granted, he didn’t ask me to marry him for another 10 months).

Right after we got married, our church in the cities was very active in the adoption world and caring for orphans.  We went to a seminar at our church to learn about the paper process behind adoption.  At that seminar, I remember asking Ted where he would like to adopt.   I remember his response well.  He said, “I know you would like to go to Latin America because of all of your past experience but if I had my way, I would go to China.  I can’t get over how cute those Chinese girls are.”

When we finally made the hard decision to stop having biological children and start the adoption route to continue to grow our family, I told Ted I really wanted to adopt from India.  They had said that 1 out of 2 girls will end up in prostitution.  However, India had just closed off their country to international adoption  so that was not an option.  I called many different agencies and they all told me to do “Special Needs China,” something that I fought and said I did not want to do.  But I think God was trying to tell me that it was going to be ok, that I can parent a child with disabilities, that I would have the patience.  We started our paperwork journey in the Special Needs China program at the end of March 2011.

When I filled out the paperwork, I started filling it out for adopting 2 kids.  Ted continued to change the number and put 1.  I thought it would be great to have 2 biological boys and 2 adopted girls.  Ted said we would think about it but right now we could only handle 1 kid.  I think God gave us two so that we would not have this argument about the fourth later (however, both Ted and I had already agreed that I would, in fact, win the argument in a few years but that Ted would put up a good fight.)  Anyways, we got our referral for 2 which was a roller coaster of a ride (you can check it out in posts from Dec 2011).

And now, here we are, less then a week away from a dream that I have had most of my life.  We would appreciate prayers to help our travels go smoothly, that the girls will bond with Ted and me, and that the boys will have a blast at Grandma and Grandpa Yoder’s house.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in About us, Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why did we choose adoption

  1. Holly says:

    We hope everything goes smoothly on your trip. I’ll be praying for you.

  2. Doris Yoder (aka Grandma Yoder) says:

    This is such a good expose` on your passions. Thanks for sharing!

    So far, today, things have gone extremely well. The boys are sound asleep now at 9:00pm. They dropped off to sleep with only a few giggles. We will certainly run into days where they will be longing for their mom and dad, but tonight, they were too exhausted from the fun on the lake to mind that their own beds are far away. Tomorrow is a new day with new events.

    Praying for safe travels to you!

  3. mary m says:

    I have followed your blog for a long time….I miss hearing about
    the little girls adventures….please don’t join the many who are not
    blogging anymore…I don’t do facebook!
    mm,vancouver,wa.
    age 69

Leave a Reply

