Day 2 Beijing (Saturday) Part 1

by Michele

What an amazing day.  I thought it might get to be a long post and it is getting late so our second half of the day will come from Ted probably tomorrow.  This morning we went to the Great Wall of China.  I have wanted to go there since I was first in China over 10 years ago.  I finally had the chance to come back and actually make it to the Wall.  We went to the Mutianyu section of the wall.  It is not as popular because of the climb but we were told it was one of the most beautiful parts.  Today being July 7th (7-7 or double 7’s) it was good luck to go to the Wall so there were a lot of people in this section today too. 

It is set in the mountains so it is a very steep part of the wall which made for a lot of sweating.  You basically are going up or down on very uneven stairs or very slanted roads the whole time.

Every couple of minutes we would get to the next watch tower or canon which you could climb around and explore.

We had hoped for a clear day but the cloudy fog has been with us the whole time in Beijing.  Part of it is smog but part of it is fog.  Our guide said before we left Beijing, that it might be clear when we get to the Wall but it was not.  The pictures do not do the Wall justice because you really could see the Wall wind up and down the green mountains.

Ted thinks this picture (without the fog) is the the picture that is hanging in the Chinese Restaurant in Waseca so we will have to go and see.

One of the reasons people come to this part of the wall is because you go up the mountain to get to the Wall either in a gondola or an open chair lift.  I totally recommend the chair lift option.  Yeah it is high up, but there is no glass to get in your way.  And coming down you get to go in a sled.  So…Much…Fun!!!  Mind you the signs did say no pictures and to please keep two hands on the brakes at all times so, of course, nobody listened.  Come on, you are at the Great Wall of China.

While we were driving to the Great Wall, we had to drive across Beijing and into the country.  There are a few things we saw on the drive.  One was the lack of playground equipment.  Maybe it is the mom in me, but this is one that I found and I don’t really think it should count since it was squeezed on the side of a parking lot.  Trust me, they are really good at squeezing anything and everything into a small spot but here I think they need a bit more space.

We also drove past some of the Olympic Stadiums, the Water Cube and Bird’s Nest.  It would have been fun to get out and look at them better but we had other things to do so pictures from the van will have to do.

All in all it was a great day in Beijing.  But tomorrow we will pack, try to blog about our evening, and head off to Nanning where in less then 2 days I will get my daughters.  I am way beyond nervous and scared so any prayers for the next two days would really be great.  Hopefully I won’t be too nervous to sleep like I have been for the last 2 weeks because I am really getting tired.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 2 Beijing (Saturday) Part 1

  1. Rhonda says:

    I will indeed be praying…for you both as well as those beautiful girls who may be quite confused by this monumental day. SOOOOO excited for you!

  2. Relax doll and get your rest. Dad has been praying for your family the last couple of weeks. I have been praying for the girls from the time you got the approval.

  3. Katie L. says:

    We will pray for good sleeping and health for both of you! 2 days!!!

  4. Doris says:

    I love seeing pictures like Ted on the sled (tho more caution would be reassuring). He looks like a happy kid! And Michele I pray you sleep really good this next night. No worries here …. The boys are doing great. Luke asked tonight when we can Skype again. His bedtime prayer thank you was about being able to Skype when he was eating supper yesterday.

Leave a Reply

