Almost Here

by Ted

I can definitely tell that we have a strong group of family and friends praying for us as we go through this.  We were worried about our flights over to China and asked everyone to pray for that.  We ended up with excellent seats and Michele and I were together.  Yesterday, we asked for prayer because Michele hasn’t been feeling the best.  She woke up this morning and is doing really well – the best she’s been since we left Minneapolis.  Thank you everyone, so much, for your prayers.  They are powerful and effective!!  Please don’t stop praying for us, the girls, and our boys.

Three hours and counting until we get to meet Quinn and Jenna.  I’m getting more and more nervous by the hour.  But it is a good nervousness I think.  Mixed with excitement and anticipation.  How is this transition going to go?  Will it be a months long, tear filled, emotionally draining process?  Will the girls fear us and look to run away, back to their home every chance they get?  Will they like Michele and I?  Will we have a fun-filled, bonding time right from the beginning?  Or will it be something in between or perhaps something completely different?

Michele is worried about their cleft lip and palate.  This has always been something that has scared her to some degree, all of the painful surgeries that we will have to go through with them.  Will they recover fast?  Will the surgeries work the first time?  How bad will their scars be?  However, I am more worried about the immediate future.  Can we get diapers, formula, food that they are used to?  How long will it take us to figure out how to feed our girls and will they eat for us?  Michele and I barely know how to find and order food for ourselves here when nearly everything is in Chinese.  I have found that Nanning is different from Beijing.  In Beijing, it was very easy to order food and get around because most of the menus had English and many of the people spoke English.  There is still some of that in Nanning but it is far less.

I’ve found that Quinn and Jenna have found a very deep place in my heart which has been growing steadily through the past months.  My heart aches for the emotional pain they will be going through today and over the next couple of days.  They are probably saying their final goodbyes to their foster family right now – or will be shortly.  I pray and hope that Michele and I will be able to comfort them and support them during this time.  I pray that Quinn and Jenna will let us.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Almost Here

  1. Callie says:

    Ted and Michele I am thinking about you and praying hard for you right now as you are only an hour away from meeting the girls. I am very excited, but nervous for you at the same time. I know the two of you are the best choice in parents for these girls as you are excellent and amazing parents to your boys and very caring and giving people to everyone. Michele you especially have been a Godsend to my family and I over the last year and I feel truly blessed to have been able to get to know you and become friends. I love that our kids have such a great time together and can only hope that Emy and the girls will become as good of friends as Luke, Ryan, and Jayden have become. God bless! I can’t wait to see pictures of you meeting the girls! I am constantly checking the blog to see your updates and have been enjoying reading them and seeing the pictures.

  2. Katie L. says:

    There are a TON of prayers going your way now! I know it’s a bit early, still 45 mins before you meet them. But wanted to make sure I let you know there were prayers. Couldn’t get to sleep for the life of me! Guess God knows what He’s up to! Hope the meeting goes well. Im praying for everyone involved!!!!

  3. Beth, Ron, & Hope says:

    By now you have your sweet daughters!!!! Can’t wait to see those first pictures of you all together! Hope and I logged in now during breakfast to see them, but who am I kidding…you don’t have time to blog now. 🙂 Hope the transition is going smoothly. We’re thinking about you here in WI.

  4. Ah, for sure, we keep praying for you! God is near. Here too, the kids again this morning, are doing just fine. Happy and eating and playing and noisy and energetic!

    • Those of you who are reading the comments, the last one was from Doris and she was referring to my boys because my girls just feel asleep and I hope they don’t wake for a long time.

  5. Linda Perkins says:

    What a amazing journey. Thank you for sharing. Quinn and Jenna are blessed having you for parents. God will never give you more than you can handle. I send you prayers and blessings for you and all of your family. Linda Perkins
    Peace be with you

Leave a Reply

