The Calm (in Minnesota)

by Doris (aka Grandma Yoder)

Okay, so I was not going to post this and instead just E-mail a note to Ted and Michele because I didn’t think it was all that blog-worthy, just sort of boring and ordinary stuff. But then I decided, maybe compared to what Ted, Michele, Quinn, and Jenna are probably dealing with today, this might be a good counter-balance.  So here is the E-mail I sent them, it tells about our pleasant quiet day here.

Dear Ted and Michele:

I am praying for you guys, that you have patience and energy, wisdom and lots of love, too, for Quinn and Jenna; I am guessing you are very busy, on this “your morning” right now. I pray that today you will make some progress with them, that they can bond with you and eat okay as well. I am sure everything is very difficult right now and I am thinking you won’t have much time for blogging, if at all. I hope you see E-mails come in on your IPOD, so decided to send this just before I go to bed.  These comments are not all that blog worthy, just about normal goings-on around here.
Your dad, Ted, is off at a church softball game tonight and he won’t be home till 11:00 pm which was just way to late for me to go and take the boys. 
Whatever has changed in your kids, I can’t figure out, but they ASK to go to bed or go take naps!!!  Is this normal for you guys at home now?  Or is our “much” swimming and playing wearing them out more than the usual? (or is this a small miracle of answered prayer?)  They sleep really well, never a peep from them all night. (I sleep on the hide-a-bed just outside their bedroom so that I am nearby should they wake up during the night.) They wake up smiling and happy in the mornings and after naps. Ryan asks to take a nap in the afternoon, he says: “I’m tired” and when I ask if he is ready for his nap, he says “yes.” He let Grandpa tuck him in today, since I stayed down at the lake with Luke so he could swim and play with Brooke and Trenda’s four foster kids.  Ryan settles right down and cuddles his stuffed furry’s and sleeps long, two hours if I let him. He again goes to bed easily in the evening as well. Luke wanted to go to bed “early” tonight, and so he was in bed by 7:45 tonight and sound asleep immediately, I think.
We went swimming for a half hour again tonight. They LOVE that, but it might be really burning up extra energy. Other than swimming they play in the house or garage, just busy with their cars or trucks, other toys, riding their bikes. They usually have pretty healthy appetites as well.
….and now I am going to bed too, I am tired as well, in a good way!
Good night, and God bless you!
About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Calm (in Minnesota)

  1. Trenda Yoder says:

    Fascinating! I think of you often and pray for you in this stage of your adventure.

Leave a Reply

