It is official

by Michele

First off, I would like to thank everyone who is praying for us.  This morning went well, better then I could have hoped.  The girls played contently around Ted and me when we were getting ready.  They thought they were pretty funny watching Ted take a shower.  I don’t know how he thought about his little audience.  If they were not spying on Ted, they were contently playing in the hallway.

Before I get too far into the day, I have a picture of our girls arriving with the orphanage nannies.  It was our first glimpse of them.  The little boy is being adopted by a very nice Dutch couple.

Jenna silently crying and shut down with Ted.  At this time I was in the hallway of the civil affairs office with a screaming inconsolable Quinn.

We have noticed that in new settings, Jenna shuts down but Quinn throws temper tantrums.  I can hardly blame her though for what she has been put through in these last 30 hours.  Tonight at bedtime, which by the way, was a repeat of last nights screaming, Quinn got her shoes, grabbed a doll and started screaming at the door trying to leave.  When she realized that we were not going to take her out she completely lost it.

Anyway, back to today.  We made the adoption official.  We paid our fees, swore that we would never abandon them but love them unconditionally.  They are ours.  Some high-up official from the CCCWA was in Nanning today and so we had ourselves a little ceremony.  He was surprised that there were twins.  We seem to be very popular because of adopting twins.

After everything was done at the Civil Affairs building, we talked our driver into taking us to the girls finding place.  Usually, you have to pay to do this and do it on your free time. However our guide said that since it was in the city anyway, we might as well go.  So off we went.  In our paperwork they said it was a government first-aid station but when we got there and our guide explained more about what it was, I would probably describe it as a teen safe-house, a governmental run building where teens can go to get the help they need.  We talked to a lady who worked there to see if she remembered the twins.  The lady said they rarely ever get babies dropped off here but nobody seems to remember our girls….but they really could not talk about it unless we got permission from the government to question them.   Anyway, they know the girls are going to the United States and that they are healthy and safe.

After we got back to the hotel, we had lunch and some play time.  We needed to put them down for a nap but we were not sure how to do that so we colored instead.

The girls did not wake up from nap very well.  It has basically been a repeat of last night.  Quinn was inconsolable which is heart breaking.  However, around 8 we just gave her some formula and she fell asleep.  Jenna is still awake but semi-content in Ted’s arms.  She will be asleep soon.  And that was our day.

One last note on the day…twins are hard, so hard.  I don’t know if it is because they are such busy bees or because there are two of them but it would seem that Ted and I don’t even know what we are doing.  Just eating is a huge challenge.  Today during lunch in the hotel room, Ted was busy feeding Jenna, I was quickly cleaning up a mess Quinn made.  Quinn managed to find a pen, stick it in a banana and then fling the banana across the room.  As I went to retrieve the banana, Quinn took the pen which is gooey with banana and wipe it on the cloth chair then proceeded to write on the chair.  Seriously it is non-stop!  The only way I can describe it, and I know most everyone will not get the reference, but it is like having two Jaydens going non-stop who don’t understand a word you are saying.  We are exhausted….but we are very entertaining.  There are many Chinese women in the restaurants who stick around and try to help us.  Seriously, we need their help because as I am trying to get some food cool for the girls, one is running away while the other is climbing a chair which then starts to tip over.  Ted and I are not really eating because we just don’t seem to find the time.  I don’t know how the foster family did it.   Makes me realize how blessed I am to have Luke and Ryan who honestly have been angels.  Anyway, I am off to bed.  I am not going to proofread this so hopefully everything makes sense.   Good night everyone.  I hope the girls sleep through the night tonight because we woke up our neighbors with all of the screaming in the middle of the night last night.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It is official

  1. Beth says:

    You’re doing great!

  2. Doris here: I am so proud of you both; you are doing a great job.

  3. Jessica says:

    Sawyer wants to say Happy new sisters day! to Luke and Rian! 🙂

  4. Katie L. says:

    Sounds like you guys have your hands full, but that the girls are starting the process of adjusting, I hope tomorrow goes even better. PTL that they are finally yours!

  5. Callie says:

    Hey Michele! I am glad you will finally get to live my life every day, but x 2!!!!!! I had to chuckle at your comment and then immediately go to the kitchen and read it to Dave! Truthfully, I am glad they are officially yours and continue to hope and pray that each day becomes easier and they adjust a little more to you and their new life. Soon they will realize that the life they have now been given is much better than the life they had and grow to appreciate it. You two are amazing parents and will figure it out quickly I am sure. Please know that if you need any help with the boys upon return home I am just across the park and more than willing to return all the favors you have done for me in the past.

  6. Mike Dickinson says:

    At times like these, lean heavily on this verse:

    Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)
    Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    And lean not on your own understanding;
    In all your ways acknowledge Him,
    And He shall direct your paths.

    It’s good to see the process progressing even if the end seems uncertain at times.
    God bless you. I’d wish you luck, but God blessing you means you won’t need it.

    Take care,
    Mike

  7. Stef says:

    So glad the girls are gradually adjusting to all the changes. They are adorable! Your blog posts bring back such memories of when we adopted our twins! It was such a wonderful time. But, I remember how exhausting and challenging it was too. It’s kind of fun to see the similarities between our two adventures. I know the days and weeks ahead will be a bittersweet mixture of highs and lows for your family. I think of you and pray for you often throughout each day. You are both such wonderful parents. ~~ “Love endures all things”

  8. Annelies in the Netherlands says:

    My boy!!!! Oh that picture is pure gold, since we completely missed his arrival since we were directed upstairs by our guide. I am so stealing this picture. Thank you Michele!

    • Hey if that is your boy, I well sent you the original so you have the full size. We downsized all the pictures on the blog. I will double check to see if we have some more. I may have pictures of him coming up the stairs. I will also check our video camera. I think we have them there too. Send me your email address and I will sent you everything we have. I didn’t know who the boy was at the time and I did not recognize him later either.

Leave a Reply

