Guangzhou – Friday

by Ted

Many things fell into place today.  Praise the lord.

We received the girls’ passports around 3:30 and had plenty of time to make it to the airport.  We made it through the airport and security with all our baggage and girls in tow.  Yea!!   However, our plane was delayed by 2 hours…. not yea.  Quinn and Jenna did wonderful on the 1 hour plane ride.  The only exception was that Jenna cried a lot when we first got on the plane which immediately prompted the gentleman who was supposed to sit next to us to change his seat.  As a result, we had an empty seat that Quinn could crawl around in.  After that the girls were fine.  Jenna sat quietly in my lap for the entire flight while Quinn crawled up and down and up and down on the seat next to us and on Michele.

We just arrived at our hotel.  The Garden Hotel.  I’m not sure how much our room is costing us per night since we didn’t book it ourselves, but I can guarantee you it is not cheap.  This is by far the fanciest hotel I have ever seen, let alone stayed in!  (Side note by Michele….So yeah, it is a fancy hotel.  It has a remote to control the shower curtain but they do not have a hair dryer and the scale doesn’t work.  I am not impressed.  Maybe I will be tomorrow when I have had more sleep.  Quinn did not sleep well last night so I am running on little sleep….)

We have the girls’ medical exams tomorrow morning.  We need to leave the hotel by 9:30 which is an hour later than we had originally thought it was going to be.  An extra hour is definitely a good thing.

But right now, it’s midnight.  The girls are sleeping and Michele and I are exhausted.  We’re going to bed.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guangzhou – Friday

  1. Erin says:

    We stayed in the Gaden in January of this year. It is amazing! Our daughter’s favorite thing to do was to ride the escalators:) I have such fond memories of that time.

    Your girls are adorable!

  2. Doris Yoder says:

    My prayer right now: “May God give you dreamless restful sleep, all of you..I hope you wake up refreshed.”

    • Might have to pray harder. These last few nights with Quinn have been brutal. Almost worse then the first night. I am just letting her cry right now because I don’t know what to do and if I touch her is makes it worse.

  3. Gayle Wickersheim says:

    Just wanted you to know we prayed for you tonight at Friday Night Prayer and will again Sunday morning (as a church) but we will continue daily prayers for all of your family as a family. – Pastor Brad

    • Thank you. We definitely need your prayers right now. There are so many very cool and fun things happening right now with the girls and us, but also many things that are very hard and frustrating at the same time. -Ted

Leave a Reply

