Day 13 in Minnesota

by Doris (aka Grandma Yoder)

I think the boys are starting to miss their mom and dad a bit more. In spite of loving to go swimming several times every day, playing with their toys, and riding their bikes, Grandma and Grandpa Yoder still are not their MOST favorite people in the world! I think we might rank in the top 8 at least, but definitely not #1. Noone can take the place of mama and daddy in these kid’s heart.  THAT IS DEFINITELY A GOOD THING!  

I overheard them commenting about their cousin Jax today. They often talk about Grandma Janett and Grandpa ChooChoo and Vickie as well (it is common everyday occurrence for those special people to slip into comments and conversation).  

They continue to be doing well however, though Ryan, it seems, gets upset quicker than previously. Luke as well, has less patience and tolerance for things in general. I was really expecting to see these little signs of separation anxiety long before now and even now, it is not very obvious.  It is just, I can tell there is a difference. 

The weather has been really warm and humid for northern Minnesota which makes swimming such a highlight. The lake was so warm, it felt almost like bath water. Apart from the lake, they  played inside a lot today.  It was cooler in the house and they played a lot with the legos and again, with their cars and trucks.  The legos became piles to drive and plow through. I helped them build a garage, of sorts, with gateways to drive under. This was fun for about 15 minutes, till it all started falling apart with some clumsy endeavors to push things through that didn’t always fit.  

Michele had sent a few packages for them to open throughout the various days, and today they opened up the last video, the one with chinese-mandarin  flavor. They watched that and are loving it. It is loaded with very good lessons. They have gotten very excited each time a present was pulled from the bag. I had added a few things as well, so they have had a total so far, of 5-6 special gifts, I think.   Last Friday they had opened up the two other videos as well. Maybe I can find something special yet, to add one more thing to the bag for later this week. (We will see if I have a chance to do that.)

This morning I started doing payroll and tomorrow morning I will need to finish it up.  I can work at the computer about 1 1/2 to 2 hours and then I need to pay them more attention if Jason is not around. He went to Hibbing right away this morning to get a license for our pontoon.  I let a movie babysit for me this morning and will likely need to do that tomorrow morning, as well, so that I can finish up. 

Ryan continues to take afternoon naps and really seems to need them and usually he is still ready for bed at 8:00 in spite of a good nap. During Ryan’s naptime Luke is often following Grandpa around, talking with him and asking him questions. Jason seems to have the most patience for Luke’s questions, and I have the most patience for a tired Ryan, when he starts “wimping out.” It is a good thing we complement each other in that way.   Luke is always tired at bedtime  and came in from play tonight about 7:20 pm, asking to go to bed. I really did not want to tuck them in that early cuz if I do, they will just be up too early in the morning.  They popped in their movie and relaxed for 30 minutes before bedtime. 

This, being Monday night, Jason is off to a church softball game. The games are usually late, under the lights and not over with till 10:00 pm.  Too, too late for these boys.  So a quiet evening here at home is good.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

