Day 14 in Minnesota

Well, the days are winding down and things stay busy here.  The boys are counting the days and Grandma and Grandpa continue to read stories, play, fix food, wash up dishes, pick up clothes, go swimming, and all the other things that fall on the list of to-dos. The boys stay happily busy, but it is obvious that mom and dad are on their minds and emotions are more labile. Luke told me something very specific that I was supposed to write in this post, and for the life of me, I can’t remember what it was. He is asleep, of course, and so I can’t ask him.

Jason and each of the boys took naps this afternoon, but I spent that time making a quick business trip to Grand Rapids. It was nap time when I left, and they were all just waking up when I came home. Luke was quite surprised to see me. He said, “Grandpa said you were going to be gone a long time, and now you are here. You weren’t even gone Grandma!” He obviously slept well on the couch.

The busy week got very complicated with the sudden death in the family of our very good friends, Glen and Julia Gingerich. Their son, Derek who is in his early 20s, died suddenly while out for a jog. The family and the whole community here is in shock and grief and it is hard to think of much else but the pain they are feeling.  We are suddenly finding again that our ordinary daily commitments and events must somehow give way to share in the pain and suffering of those we love….”rejoice with those that rejoice”…that is easy and fun, but the “weep with those that weep” takes an emotional toll that effects the spirit. We are so sad for them.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 14 in Minnesota

  1. I’m so sad for the Gingerich family. It seems unimaginable that something this terrible would happen to a family that we are so close to. My thoughts and prayers are with them.

    When you drop off the boys, I could meet you half way or perhaps Roger would be willing to meet you somewhere. That is if you need to be at or help with the wake or funeral.

    Ted

Leave a Reply

