Pretend Swimming – Last Day

by Doris (aka Grandma Yoder)

I guess I was wrong! Here I thought the boys were really eager to go home.  I guess that is only at bedtime.  At 10:00 a.m. this morning, they are telling me they do NOT want to go home tomorrow, they want to wait till Saturday. Go figure!   

Luke has thought up this new game about swimming that they can play here in the house (it apparently became very necessary because we did not go swimming yesterday).  The ‘way’ upstairs is dry land.  The main floor of our house is the shallow part of the lake where they can stand and walk around in the water. The basement is deep water where they have to swim under water with their eyes shut and nose plugged.  The bed in our bedroom on the main floor is the diving board and the pillows piled on the floor is where the water is splashing when they jump in.  They have their swim trunks on (or at least in pretend; so far they have not actually changed into them; I would not be a bit surprised if their game did progress to that!)

Anyway, today is the last day we will be together here all day. So we will get in some swimming time, it is absolutely lovely outside this morning. Then I plan to start gathering up their things. Laundry is not an issue, since a load is done every day and we will have that in order quickly. Tonight we will go to a wake for Derek Gingerich.  Tomorrow morning we pack and load up the car. At 10:30 we will attend Derek’s funeral. After the funeral at 11:30 we will start home. If the funeral goes a little longer, we likely will slip out and just leave. Hopefully we will be in Owatonna about suppertime.  We will plan to stop at Culver’s to eat and then HOME at about 5:30 or 6:00. 

We wish you safe travels Ted, Michele, Jenna, and Quinn. I pray that you can sleep and take naps as needed while traveling. I know it will be a difficult journey, and you are in my mind, heart, and prayers every moment of the day. I know you are in God’s hands on this trying day. We are eager to see you.  When we bring the boys, we will stay only a short while and then head back north and likely get a motel in Bloomington or thereabouts.

The End

(This is the last post from Grandma Yoder. I don’t plan to write up anything tonight.)

 

 

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

