Chopsticks Masters

by Ted

I like to think life at the Yoder household is returning to normal.  But I think we still have a long way to go yet and I’m pretty sure “normal” will have a much different definition than it ever has before.  That’s a good thing though.

Today I went back to work for the first time since we brought the girls home.  Michele’s dad, Roger, is taking some days off from work and came down to help out as we figure out a new routine for our family.  Roger is a huge help since our nights with the girls are still very rough and Michele and I are both whipped by the time the morning starts.  The midnight to 4AM stretch seems to be the toughest for Quinn and Jenna.  Usually one or both of them are up during this time screaming away.  For the most part, Luke and Ryan have been able to sleep through it, but a constant string of rough nights since we’ve been home have started taking their toll on us, especially Michele.  She managed to pick up a nasty cold during our trip home and with the time shift, lack of sleep, and stress of running a new family, she has not been able to shake the cold at all, yet, and is getting drained.

Roger was able to entertain the boys throughout the day by going for bike rides, building train tracks, or heading off to the water park.  This allowed Michele to get a few extra hours of sleep while the girls were napping.  Sleep is priceless.  Thanks Roger!!

Yesterday, during lunch, Luke and Ryan decided it was time to try out their new chopsticks we brought home from China.  They were determined to figure them out and I must say I was impressed with their persistence and ingenuity.

The noodles we had for lunch were not always very cooperative, but Luke managed to pinch a couple and wrangle them up to his mouth.

Ryan tried the balancing approach.  He discovered that if you get the noodle on just right and lift it very slowly you have an excellent shot of landing it in your mouth.

I’m not sure they would have graduated from chopsticks school in China, but if you remember that they are a 2 and 5-year-old from a little farming village in southern Minnesota, they are “Chopsticks Masters”!

…just don’t look at the mess on the floor.  =)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chopsticks Masters

  1. Give those little chopsticks masters a hug for me. I miss them. I got a nasty cold and sore throat as well…did I pick it up at your house during that short hour I was there I wonder? Is that what made Quinn run a fever on the plane? I am so sorry Michele is fighting that nasty stuff along with all the other things. I pray she gets well quickly and that sleep time for the girls settles down real soon.

  2. Holly says:

    For some goofy reason our kids only get out chopsticks with rice. That’s a mess, too. 😀

Leave a Reply

