How have we been surviving?

by Michele

So how have we been surviving with four kids five years old and under? Well, we have had help.  A lot of help, and we thank everyone who is going out of their way for us right now, because it is really making our lives a bit easier.  Our church family has been a blessing.  They have dropped off diapers and food so I have yet to cook a meal.  Trust me, I have not had time to cook yet since most of my time is helping all four kids adjust to everyone, sleeping when I can, or sitting on the couch because I feel so sick.  Ted and I feel pretty good about ourselves because we have had the kitchen cleaned up by 7 the last two nights.  The first few nights, food did not get put away until around 9 or 10 after all the kids were sleeping.  We are slowly figuring out how to manage our family and get work done around the house.  We have also been blessed with our neighbors who continue to help us with our kids.  Tonight, Luke and Ryan got to have a special night by going next door to play (without their new sisters in tow).  They thought they were special.  Meanwhile, Ted, Jenna, Quinn, and I managed to rearrange the living room to make some special places for the boys to play.  I will give you those pictures later.

During the day, I am able to sleep and rest to try and get rid of this cold because my dad has been coming down here every day.  He has all of the kids wrapped around his fingers (or possibly, he is wrapped around all of their fingers for all the things he is doing with them).  I hope next week when he goes back to work my kids will be content with me.

The girls have really warmed up to my dad.  Jenna joyfully runs to greet Grandpa and Quinn now hollers from the top of the stairs until Grandpa comes to help her down.  When Ted and I are home, she just walks and/or slides down the stairs on her own, no problem.

It has been really hot here and since we are not lucky enough, like Grandpa and Grandma Yoder, to live on a lake, the boys have resorted to the next best thing.  The girls were a little scared of the water at first but after a few times of me running with them through the water, they started to laugh.

As for sleeping, Jenna is getting better or at least she has the last two nights.  Ted is starting to get caught up on sleep I think.  Quinn is a different story.  I have made a bit of progress with her.  She no longer screams for three hours straight in the night.  She now lays quietly next to me in bed while I read to her for three hours.  She plays with her feet, her hands, my book, my flashlight, the curtains, the blankets…..you get the idea!  She definitely is not sleeping but she is quiet, which to me, is an improvement.  We are currently reading The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven.  by Kevin and Alex Malarkly.  She seems to enjoy it.  I am almost done so if anyone has some more book suggestions, let me know because I read about 60-75 pages a night to her….and she is quiet.

We moved their beds in their rooms tonight so that hopefully when I am up with Quinn, I can still comfort Jenna if she wakes up.  That way only one of us is up in the middle of the night and not both of us.  I know the arrangements in some of our rooms look strange but hopefully it will start working for us as everyone adjusts to all of the changes in our lives.  I hope tonight goes better.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How have we been surviving?

  1. Callie says:

    Jayden really wants to come play with the kids again, so please let me know when you feel it will work. I don’t want to just show up and interrupt naps or anything. Also, if you need to send the boys over here to play or if all of you want to get out of the house and come over here to play….PLEASE FEEL FREE! We would love it!

Leave a Reply

