How to tell our twins apart..according to Luke and Ryan

by Michele

We have been helping Luke and Ryan to tell the difference between Jenna and Quinn.  It is hard.  This morning at the breakfast table, Luke exclaimed that, “There is a difference in their hair.  Quinn has more than Jenna.”  I said he was right.  He was very excited that he is starting to see differences.  I asked Ryan if he is starting to see any differences between the girls.  He looks at me and says, “Mom, they have different names.”  Well done Ryan, they do!  Leave it to the 2-year-old to come up with the most obvious difference.  Jenna and Quinn are starting to answer to their names so he is just calling out their names, and if they look, he has the right one.

On a plus side, both Jenna and Quinn slept through the night last night.  They were so tired we were having a hard time keeping them awake until 8 last night.  I figured we would be up a lot in the night but Jenna slept until 7:15 and Quinn until 8.  I am still very over-tired but we are on the right track at least.  Luke and I are felling a lot better.  I am still a little sick but not too bad.  Thank you for your prayers.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to tell our twins apart..according to Luke and Ryan

  1. Katie L. says:

    So glad that they slept through the night!!! Joel and I love Ryans method of telling the girls apart, so adorable!

  2. Callie says:

    Yay for the girls sleeping through the night. This has to be a good sign that they are starting to adjust to their surroundings and feeling more comfortable with things. Things are going in the right direction. Glad to hear that you and Luke are starting to feel better.

  3. Praying every day your health and energy (for everyone) will return along with good rest.

    As for telling them apart, well, Jason and I were back at doing that for Elsay and Elias (that is, just trying out a name using Ryan’s method). This summer they are harder to tell apart again. Elsay’s face has changed as he has been growing, and right now, they have more similar features than ever before. We will probably do that for Quinn and Jenna for a while too.

  4. Gayle Wickersheim says:

    Ryan is SOOO adorable!!! I laughed so hard! SOOO glad that the girls are beginning to sleep! We are praying for you as well and will continue to do so. Thanks for being such GREAT parents – you are an inspiration for us all. Parenting certainly isn’t for sissies!

  5. Annelies in the Netherlands says:

    I wasn’t able to get on your blog while in China but we are home now, so YAY!
    Just dropping a quick note before I start reading, but want to say it was so nice meeting you all and it is good to read you are home safe and sound. Our little boy has been sleeping like a log apart from one night since we met him on that hot and humid day in July (the same day we met!) It is okay if you hate me a little now. Our big girl is doing pretty well too. She loves her little brother but he also annoys her, which as a completely normal dynamic to have I believe.
    I of course met your gorgeous girls, but you boys are such cuties too!

    Best wishes from the Netherlands

    Annelies

    (please tell me you are still behind on laundry, ironing and pretty much everything domestic wise just like me. There is still a carry on suitcase in my living room and we have been home 5 days now. I don’t even know what is in it and I am afraid to check)

    • I hired a cleaning lady 2 weeks before we left so she cleans my house until things settle down. I also make a point of not ironing anything. We wear our cloths wrinkly. It’s less work. So I am not too far behind on the household aspect. Don’t get me started on how far behind we are on sleep. Our girls are not good sleepers. They wake up all the time screaming which wakes up the other. It also wakes up my 2 1/2 year old. My 5 year old can sleep like a log, nothing wakes him up. As for unpacking, we have one suitcase left. It is full of all our souvenirs or other things I did not want to unpack that just kept on getting left in the suitcase and dumped together. Scary enough, I am missing a matching shirt of the girls that I know is full of spilled milk. One was in the wash but the other one I have not seen yet. I am sure I will start to smell it soon so I know where I accidentally put it. Glad to hear you are home. How was Beijing?

Leave a Reply

