And we are on our own.

by Michele

Sorry for those of you who got the earlier draft.  I was in process of writing it and then “kids” happened and I meant to save the draft but I hit publish so if you receive email updates, this is what the post was meant to say (ignore the first one).

Well, my dad has to go back to work so I am on my own today.  Luckily someone is still going to make us supper so I only have to manage four kids.  I thought I was doing good.  Everyone was fed, dressed and teeth brushed by 9:30.  They were playing well together so I started putting away some laundry that has been sitting in a basket since last Thursday (just so you know, my laundry is usually put away the day it is washed….so it’s a big deal that it has not been put away yet).  Luke wanted to go to the park so we headed over around 10.  Within 10 minutes, the park lawn mover showed up.  Ryan is screaming inconsolably because he is scared, as I run to help him, I see Quinn ready to step off and try the fireman’s pole while Jenna is about to take a step into mid-air obviously not seeing the pole 2 feet out that she is supposed to be stepping on……which one do you go for?  Luke to the rescue!  Luke screams, “Mom, I’ll get Jenna.  Ryan you will be alright, I get you in a minute.”  Ok, I got Quinn.  What an amazing boy.  We wrangle the girls off of the park equipment get them in the jeeps and I run to get a hysterical Ryan.  We all leave the park alive.  The morning continued to go downhill…So by 11:15 I hung my head down and admitted defeat.  I called reinforcements…..Bella (ok, I made Luke call Bella because I was trying to comfort Ryan and one of the girls.)

I felt like I was at least in control again.  The girls did not sleep well last night so I was hoping for a good nap but that did not happen either.  They woke up in a semi-crabby mood.  The afternoon went on with Bella and me helping and/or playing with all the kids until around 3:30 at which time we were starting to lose control.  The girls were not getting along with the boys, everyone wanted Bella and my attention and if they didn’t have both, there was going to be some screaming.

Last week I realized that the boys would need breaks from the girls, so we actually rearranged our living room to create a secret room behind the couch that only the boys could get into.  However, that was not enough today.  Bella and I could not keep up with all of the screaming and the needs they all had.  So around 4:15, I called in more reinforcements.  I put the screaming girls in their room for a few minutes while I sent my boys off to Bella’s grandma’s house (which by the way, I wish I was a kid, so I could play there).  The boys were excited, they not only got Bella but the treasures of new toys at grandma’s house.

After they were on their way, I got the girls out of their rooms.  I expected them to be the same…clingy, not able to set them down, crying over everything…but that was not what happened.  I brought them downstairs, they looked around and started playing.  They giggled, they laughed, they ate their snack.  Everyone was happy, just not all in the same house.

Tonight I took Ryan on a much needed mommy-and-me time to Dairy Queen.  When we got there, Ryan sat down and I sat down across from him.  He looked at me and said, “Mom there is room by me.”  When we were done with our ice cream he said, “Mom this is a good day.”  I think he is going to need a lot more special times away from his sisters before he starts to settle down and learn to like and/or love them and realize that he is not being forgotten.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And we are on our own.

  1. Hang in there….one day at a time. Right now they are all going to be more demanding as they work through their insecurities. Eventually that will settle down.

  2. April says:

    It sounds almost perfect – sorry to say but this is what big families do, they laugh together they cry together they push each others limits and in the end they will love each other more because of it and will be better adjusted for life in general in the long run. I am really enjoying reading your blogs. You are amazing parents and I wish you the best always even if I don’t seem to communicate that until now. You continue to be in my prayers – can’t wait to meet the girls. You think the park is a challenge – wait until we go camping! Lots of love and blessings. April

Leave a Reply

