Lymes Disease

by Ted

The girls are starting to mimic the boys in everything they do.  They especially like to do this when the boys are getting into trouble….who could blame them.  That’s when you have the most fun right?

This morning we were playing outside in the porch while it was still lightly sprinkling.  The boys were having fun climbing on the railings.  It wasn’t long before Jenna was on their heels trying her best to follow along.  Thankfully, the railing was little too high for her.  But that didn’t stop her from trying.

Jenna trying so hard to keep up with the boys.

As for me, I’ve continued to get a little bit worse each day.  And then last night I developed a fever for a few hours.  My doctor had told me to watch for this and let him know if anything changed symptom wise.  When I called him this morning he recommended I not start the steroid treatment he had prescribed the night before and that I come in and get some new blood work done even though my fever was long gone already.  A number of blood counts had shifted slightly indicating that there really is an infection occurring versus just normal joint inflammation.  Since the symptoms are all pointing to Lymes disease, he decided to put me on the treatment.  The test for Lymes disease isn’t always the most reliable, so we started the antibiotic treatment since that seems like the most likely cause.  Assuming he is right, it would mean I picked up Lymes around 2 months ago.  This would line up fairly well with when we last visited my parents’ cabin.   And there are plenty of deer ticks around there.  Thankfully, the symptoms waited to show themselves while we were in the US.  The timing could have worked out that they started showing up while we were in China, and that would have been a nightmare.

I’m definitely tired of hurting and aching and moving like a 90 year old man.  I’m praying and hoping that the treatment works quickly and completely.  Normally, people have a complete recovery from Lymes disease with no further symptoms after going through the treatment.

As for Michele, she is still struggling with her cold although she thinks she is back on the up swing.  If you heard her voice, you wouldn’t think that was true.  Hopefully, she is right and she can finally start putting this 2 week long cold behind her.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

