Look Mom, no training wheels!

by Michele

We have been trying to get Luke to try riding without training wheels for a while and he has always said no.  We had already moved his training wheels up a little bit so he had to start balancing but they were still on his bike and he still relies heavily on them.  Yesterday, our neighbor boy who is 4 1/2 years old came riding to our house on his bike without training wheels.  Well our competitive little boy would not be beat.  He started begging for me to take off his training wheels.  Sadly I told him I did not have time to take off his training wheels right now because I was in the mist of a three way toddler battle for mommies undivided attention and I knew Ted could not do it because he is still so stiff.  Enter awesome neighbor boy to the rescue.

Off came the wheels and on came the pads (sorry, I just was not about to have my one and only kid who was not crying at the time fall on his bike and scrape his knee and start crying.  There is only so much I can take)

And away they went.  Elliott even held his bike while Luke got himself set, pushed him off and then quickly hoped on his bike to ride after him since I was busy video taping the whole thing.

Elliott even took Luke around the block a few times since I was busy with the other kids.  I wish I could take him more but every time we go, Ryan wants to ride his bike and he is a bit too slow for Luke without training wheels.  Usually Luke just does circles around Ryan and we are all fine but without training wheels, Luke just has to go.  Hopefully Ted will start feeling better soon so that we can all go.

On that front, Ted said that he is finally feeling a bit better however he still has a lot of pain meds in him.  As for me, I had a really hard day.  It’s one of those bad mommy days that you wish you could take back but can’t.  Hopefully, I will be in a better mood tomorrow so that my patience, that I so desperately need, will be there.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look Mom, no training wheels!

  1. Gayle Wickersheim says:

    Go Elliott!! Congratulations, Luke!! Still praying for all of you!!!

Leave a Reply

