Bloody Noses

by Ted-

This morning we all piled into our van and headed up to Shakopee for the Renaissance Festival.  I was debating whether or not to go and in the end decided I was feeling good enough that I didn’t want to miss out on the fun.  Michele’s family – dad, brother, and a couple of cousins- all met us there.  While there, Luke and cousin Connor decided they wanted to ride the rocking horse.

This wasn’t just any old rocking horse.  At the Renaissance Festival they don’t do things half way.

Later, the girls fell asleep in the stroller for their afternoon nap.  I needed a break and sat down with them while the boys and Michele headed off for the petting zoo.  After a while I decided I needed to go track the boys down again and as I started walking a young man flagged me down and said,

“Sir, did you know that one of your girls has a really bad bloody nose?”

“Really!?” I answered, as I leaned forward and checked out the girls.  I didn’t see anything real obvious.  But I did know that Quinn had nailed her mouth on a chair as she fell several days ago that had bled.  She had, once or twice, managed to reopen that wound and had had a little blood on her teeth on occasion.  I thought the man must have seen a little red blood from that and replied:

“Yea…she’s been bleeding a little bit there over the past couple of days.  It’s no big deal.”  Then I walked away in search of Michele.

Later, Michele had a woman comment to her, “Ma’am, both your girls have really bloody noses.”  Michele looked down at them and replied, “Oh, that’s just some food.”  And she grabbed a wet wipe to clean them up better.  She didn’t think anything of it.

Then later in the day, soon before we were ready to head home, I pushed the girls past two men selling animal balloons.  “Hey, sir did you know your girls have bloody noses?” the first man asked.  As I peered over the stroller again to check, the second man whispered to the first.

“They don’t have bloody noses!  That’s just their lips.”  I look back over at them and watched the first man turn bright red.  Apparently, at the Renaissance, if you have an unrepaired cleft lip it looks like you have a really bloody nose.

Meanwhile, the boys were looking for some really good souvenirs to spend their allowance money on, and after a while Luke and Ryan found themselves a couple of Renaissance style weapons.  Luke and Ryan both took their  new job of family protectors very seriously by attacking any tree in sight.  They even got some pointers from the king’s court guards.  The king himself gave the boys a few coins as pay for their services.  And sure enough, we all stayed safe and the bad guys stayed away all day after they saw Luke and Ryan’s swords.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Cleft lip and palate, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

