My little helper

by Michele

If you have asked us lately how everyone has been doing, I usually respond that Ryan is still having a hard time with everything, but that everyone else is starting to fit together.  Luke has adjusted well.  He sometimes tried too hard to help us out and becomes very bossy but over all has a lot of fun with the girls.  Quinn is usually happy when playing with toys but does tend to have a lot of temper tantrums yet.  Part of the reason is because she does not sleep well.  She continues to cry a lot throughout the whole night.  She did this in China too, so getting a good night sleep with her has been very difficult.  Days tend to be easier when she does manage to get a good night’s sleep.  On those days she contently plays away.

Jenna, on the other hand, is a good sleeper for the most part.  She is more content during the day because of it, but she does seem to get into more trouble.  It seems she is always taking things after I say no touching.  Or she is climbing on top of things she is not suppose to be on top of (think kitchen stove).  She doesn’t seem to be catching on to English as quickly as Quinn, so maybe that’s part of the problem with getting into trouble.

But the biggest change I think is Ryan.  I know he is only 2 (although in a few weeks he will turn 3) but he has gone from the baby of the family, with no responsibility, to being a big brother.  He has been struggling a lot, but I think I have had a break through a few days ago.  I discovered that if I give him jobs to do and tell him exactly how to help me, he feels important and that he is part of the family.  So he has started to be my other little helper.  Before this, only Luke and I would be working while the 3 little ones played and I think Ryan was feeling left out.  So now I have 2 helpers which is great because it is hard to keep this house clean with 4 kids, 2 long haired cats, and 2 adults.   Bonus for me and bonus for Ryan!

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My little helper

  1. Gayle Wickersheim says:

    Ryan, you are an awesome helper. Wow, what an awesome big kid you are!!

  2. Time….! Thanks for giving us some details on your days.

Leave a Reply

