First day of school

by Michele

I know everyone else does this post so I figured I would join the club because I was one excited parent today.  Luke started kindergarten today.  His excitement has been building up to this day and he got ready lightening fast.  We walked out the door in record time.  I feel a little bad because his backpack is huge.  I know today it was packed with all of his school supplies but it was huge.  The backpack was one of the only ones that I liked at the local Wal-Mart and lately I have been finding it hard to go to a different town to go shopping so big backpack it is.

We got to school and he got to walk in with a friend of his from preschool.  They are actually in the same class too so that was a bonus for both kids on their first day.

I got to stay with him for the first hour and then I had to leave.  It didn’t even phase him.  When I went to pick him up after school he was all smiles.

I asked him what his favorite time was and he said nap time because he got to just sit there and think.  Although later tonight he said he was bored during nap time and his real favorite time was snack time because he got to eat.

We also had another big day.  I know someone is too young to go to pre-school but we sent him anyways.  Ryan had his first day of preschool today.  He was also full of smiles while at home.

We asked him to move his hand and this is what we got….technically he did move his hand but not in the direction we wanted him to move it.  I kid you not but both of my boys try really hard to find any and every loophole in what we say.

Anyways, we got him to school and then he got shy.  He did not want to go by himself but I got him started on a puzzle and the teacher sat right down to help him and that was the end of the problem.  They said he warmed up and was animated during song time…well of coarse, it is Ryan.  I have never seen Ryan sit still during music time.

When I picked up Ryan, he was also full of smiles.  He said his favorite time was playing time, music time and snack time…pretty much the whole time at pre-school.

Today was a good day.  Got to love school time.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First day of school

  1. ashley koehler says:

    🙂 loved reading todays blog!

  2. Joy says:

    Love the HUGE backpack! : ) Greta just started preschool too, two days a week. I hardly know what to do with myself with only one child in the house.

  3. Mindy says:

    I’m pretty sure Luke’s buddy is my cousins little boy! I always love to see the back to school pics everyone posts on their blog/FB pages.

Leave a Reply

