While daddy’s gone again….

by Michele

Ted has been gone for the second week in a row.  At least this time he was only gone Wednesday afternoon to Saturday night.  He is not even home yet when I am typing this but he is on his way.  Both trips have kind of came at a bad time family wise.  We have only had the girls home for about 6 weeks.  They are still terrible sleepers.  They wake up Ryan in the middle of the night so that gives me 3 crabby toddlers all to myself.  It was also the first 2 weeks of school.  The first time Luke has had all day every day kindergarten and Ryan has preschool.  I think that is adding to the sleep problems here.  Tempers are short here by everyone and I seem to always loose my patience around 1 AM after about the 4th time I am up with the girls.  I am sure it would help if I could average more then 4 hrs a sleep a night but this is what this past week looked like…….

And this…..

Lets not leave out Jenna, she has had her moments too but usually they are out in public where I don’t have a camera (think at school pickup time for my boys where there are tons of other parents with well behaved kids.  The principle of Luke’s school even asked if everything was ok and if I needed help one day in the parking lot.  I swear I am not doing anything to these girls but make them walk about 50 paces to get Luke).  We have luckily been adopted by one of our neighbors who have been coming over to watch my kids at random times when I need to run a kid somewhere.  They have started calling her Grandma Gerri.  Ryan keeps on asking when Grandma Gerri is coming over again and when do we get to go to Grandma Gerri’s house again.

So what have we been doing besides having temper tantrums and running kids to and from school?  Well, I did this to our front tree with a few pieces of scrap wood and a few bent nails I found laying around.

I know, some of you might think this is unsafe.  If you do…don’t bring your kid over.  Luke has been having a blast and he is very happy and excited to climb the tree whenever he gets.  You should have seen how fast he got ready one morning for school when I said he could climb the tree.

Well, we have survived the last two weeks (not very gracefully).  Ted should be home in a few more hours and I am going to sleep downstairs in the basement where I can not hear the girls cry for a whole night.  I might take Ryan with me.  He deserves a good nights rest too.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While daddy’s gone again….

  1. Joy says:

    Praying you can get some good sleep… As a former climber, I think the tree ladder is brilliant! (Pretty sure I have 2 girls that would agree.)

  2. Pingback: God Answers Prayer | To China and Back Again

Leave a Reply

