Pre-op check-up

by Michele

Today Jenna, Quinn and I had a very busy day.  It started kind of late because they had a very bad night and they ended up sleeping in.  We cleaned the house with the help of our cleaning lady. Then, when it was time for naps, we all piled into the van and headed over to the social security building a few towns over.  It took me  a while to find it because it was in the middle of a government mall type building and there were no signs telling me which way to go.  Some random guy helped me find the way.  He could not find the office he was looking for either.  Eventually, we made it.

And filed our paperwork.

We then headed over to the clinic and got their pre-op check-up done.  The girls have to be seen by a doctor within 7 days of their surgery to make sure they are healthy.

It was kind of funny, while we were at the check-up, the doctor was listening to Quinn’s heart and lungs.  Meanwhile, Jenna quickly grabbed the blood pressure squeeze ball and pretended to listen to her own heart and lungs.  She seemed to know exactly where to put the ball.  Well, they both passed with flying colors.  Our forms are filled out and they are ready to go for their cleft lip and palette surgeries in  5 days.

I think God must have decided that I needed a little extra encouragement today.  It seemed everywhere I went today there was someone oohhing or ahhing over how cute the girls are. Other people would thank me or congratulate me on the adoption.  One gal, who happened to be a twin herself, even gave me a big hug.  She told me it takes a remarkable person to parent twins because it is more than just twice the work.  Logically, I don’t know how it adds up, but I am learning that she was probably right.   Hugs are good and I needed one today.  Thanks to everyone for the kind words today – even though I don’t know who you are and I will probably never see you again.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Cleft lip and palate, Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pre-op check-up

  1. Doris Yoder says:

    It is getting very close. I will see you soon.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

