The Presence of God

by Michele

Today at church our Pastor had a prayer session where people who wanted healing for something could come forward and be prayed over.  Ted and I took the girls forward to get prayer for their upcoming surgeries – which by the way are in 3 days (this coming Wednesday).  We walked up to Deb who has recently had a complete recovery from a severe stroke – baffling the doctors.  And in the past has had her hearing completely restored from what the doctors said was permanent hearing damage.  As she prayed over our girls and over us for a fast recovery her hands, which were holding the girls’ hands, started burning and tingling.  She felt this was God showing her that He was there with the girls.  She told us not to worry, because God was in control and that He would take care of them both during and after the surgeries.

As we were leaving church, another person came up to me and asked what was going on.  What were we praying about because he felt a strong power coming from us while we were at the alter.  I told him that it was for the girls’ upcoming surgeries.  He reassured me that it will go smoothly because of the presence of God around us.

Over the last couple of weeks, Ted and I have had so many different people, some we know and some we don’t know tell us we are doing a great job.  It is hard to believe them because they don’t see us almost losing our tempers all the time at home with our kids.  They don’t see the constant chaos our house is in while we are all trying to adjust to the new normal.  A new normal which includes a lot of crying and temper tantrums by two little girls.  I have been terrified for these upcoming surgeries because I have talked to a few moms who have gone through it with 1 kid, yes I said just 1 kid and they said it was hard, very hard.  How are we suppose to make it through with 2 kids having the surgery and another 2 kids at home, one who is still struggling with the attention his new sisters gets?

I think I have vented my concerns and frustrations a lot to my neighbors because they offered to babysit all of our kids last night.  So for 6 hours last night, Ted and I left the house – kid free!!  They fed them all and put them to bed (and they cleaned up all of the toys).  Their idea was for Ted and I to have some alone time, to reconnect before the surgeries.  So naturally, Ted and I called our youth group from church and asked them to hang out with us.  For 6 hours last night, I was not thinking of the surgeries coming up, I was not thinking about how every night one or the other girl cries for hours, I was not thinking about who has to wash their hands yet or which one needs a diaper changed or how can I comfort Ryan.  I was getting my butt kicked by a bunch of teenagers on the Frisbee field followed shortly thereafter by football (just so you know, I did catch the football once for a touchdown).  We played mini golf and then when it got dark, we played peek-around-the-corner and kick the can.

It may not have been what most people would picture as the ideal date night.  But for Ted and I it was just what we needed.  Fresh air…good exercise…lots of fun…and no talking or thinking about toddlers/kid things.  Just good ‘ol fashioned fun with some of our best friends in the world.  Thank you all so much for giving us that break.

And thank you God in advance for how You are going to protect and heal our girls during their surgeries.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Cleft lip and palate, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Presence of God

  1. Rhonda Johnson says:

    I appreciate your honesty and candor in these blogs. Adoption adjustments are never simple and you have the added challenge of twins. We will be praying for all of you especially on Wednesday!

  2. Gina says:

    You are doing a great job with your girls and your boys. I’ll be sending healthy, peaceful thoughts and prayers your way for the upcoming surgery day. Bring yourself some extra clothes. Drink plenty of water while you are there. Take care of yourselves too!

  3. God has a plan…a very special plan for your family. The pictures are so good, and the outfits are adorable, Michele. See you soon!

  4. I love the girls’ “dresses”, that’s probably not the right term? Did you get them in China?

Leave a Reply

