Day one of recovery

by Michele

Last night Jenna started eating some pudding, apparently she really likes it.  Funny I tried pudding before the surgery and she would not let it enter her mouth.  The night went ok.  I slept in the Ronald McDonald house from 7:30-11:30 PM when I woke up and quickly came back to the room.  I had told my dad I would be back to relieve him around 11 but I slept through the alarm.  Oh well.

When I arrived in the room, Dad was sleeping with Quinn and Ted with Jenna.  Well sleeping might not be the best word.  They would wake up about every 20 mins and cry and they would have to try and comfort them.  We got some more drugs in the girls and they finally seemed to settle in for the night.  We would have about 1-2 hours of sleep before they woke up and cried complete with legs kicking.

Around 6 am, Jenna started to wake up.  She seems much more content this morning.  She is eating well right now (more pudding).  Jenna is already starting to walk around the room too.  The doctor is very happy with her progress.    They said that if she continues, she may be able to leave later this afternoon.  We have to start backing down her drugs to see how she is handling the pain, she is pretty full of drugs right now.

Quinn on the other hand is not doing so well.  She is refusing to eat anything.  We have gotten a little bit of milk down her but not much.  We need her to start eating so she gets discharged at the same time.  But there is a small improvement because Quinn has been awake for about 1 hr.  and she has not been crying or banging her legs.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Cleft lip and palate, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

