Happy 2nd Birthday (the 1st with us)

I actually wrote this while Jenna was in surgery and Quinn was getting prepped.  I needed something to distract me.  I just didn’t get time to post it because of all of the surgery updates.

by Michele

The girls turned 2 on Oct 2nd, we think.  Many people have asked me before about our Chinese girls family history and the truth is we don’t know anything, including when their actual birthday is.  Now I know some of you who have adopted before think we should not share all the info because that is our kids personal information, all that they have but I feel like if we talk about it, maybe it will inspire someone else to bring a kid home, to become their forever family.  So here it goes…

Our girls were found outside of a governmental building on Dec 2, 2010.  The police received an anonymous phone call at 7:00 that their were two babies on the sidewalk.  Ted and I can only imagine it was the birth family making sure that someone found their children.  Even if the police didn’t show up, the building opens up at 8 so the girls would be cared for.  We have the name of the police officer who went to pick up the girls.  He took them down to the hospital where a doctor looked at the girls, determined that they were in good health and decided they were roughly 2 months old so their birthday became Oct. 2, 2010.  There was no note saying what they named the babies or when they were actually born.  But it does mean that their birth mom took loving care of the girls for 2 months knowing she would some day give them up.  It makes me cry to even think that some where out there their mom might be thinking about them, wondering if their girls have found a forever family who loves them, wondering if they are getting the medical help that they need, something that they might not have been able to provide.

This will be their second birthday their birth mom missed, the first one that the foster mom has missed (our girls were in foster care for 1 1/2 years) but it is the first one with us.  The first one with a cake….with their names on it.

Ok, they can’t blow out candles but Jenna had fun trying.  I helped a bit.  Quinn just thought it was fun to reach for the candles and the frosting.

And to make them official members of the Yoder clan, we had their pinata.  I think they remembered what to do from Ryan’s because they went gun’ho right away.  We did give them a small bat this time.

Jenna above, Quinn below

They were not strong enough to hurt the pinata at all so we sent in the big sluggers.

Ryan continued to close his eyes every time he swung the bat.  I don’t know if he will make a good ball player but he did have fun.

Luke came in and took it out for us.  He actually smashed it a part after it broke off the string but it works.

Opened some presents (we actually did the pinata on Sunday with one of our closes family friends but they opened these presents on Tuesday with another really close family friends on their birthday).  So to my Chinese daughters…Happy Birthday.  May we enjoy many more with you.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home, Our Adoption Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy 2nd Birthday (the 1st with us)

  1. Doris Yoder (aka Grandma Yoder) says:

    Oh, I love that close-up picture of them in the sedum….we need that one in a frame, methinks!

  2. Dana McCabe says:

    I just love adoption stories. I found your blog through a search on the internet just today. I was adopted myself, and not knowing my birthday either, I wanted to look and see if they had any related articles on the good ol’ Google. I’m currently in high school now, and it’s kinda awkward. But this was a heartwarming story, (And I must read more about your blog, it looks wonderful!) and I thank you for sharing this. Your daughters are so adorable! 🙂

    -Dana

  3. Pingback: They turned 6! | To China and Back Again

Leave a Reply

