Girls night out

by Michele

Ted and the boys are up north for the weekend getting some good daddy and son time mixed in with some grandma and grandpa time too.  With all my boys gone, the girls and I headed to my step-brother’s wedding last night.  I was a bit nervous going to the wedding with 2 little girls and no help.  My brother was going to be there but he has his hands full with an 11 month old who was just getting over a cold so he has been a bit cranky.  My dad was pretty busy mingling but he stopped by here and there to make sure we were doing ok.

Before I got to the wedding, my dad told me to seek out two of his friends from his bible study, so that is what we did.  We set up the toys on a bench close to Mike and Sandy and the girls started making some new friends.

I was able to get food and go to the bathroom without the girls even missing me.   But once I told the girls that their food was there and it was time to eat, they couldn’t get to the table fast enough.  They both really enjoyed the food.  This is Jenna making sure she got as much of her cupcake into her mouth as she could.

On a total side note, the girls are starting to say a few things.  They both said Bella a few days ago when they saw her outside.  They have both been saying Nala (our cat) for a while but I think Quinn has finally said her first word that is not a name…and because they love food it is only fitting that Quinn’s first word is …….eat (she does it complete with signing the word too).  At least we know where we rank in their lives..Nala…Bella…eat.  No mom or dad.  Oh well.

Back to the wedding.  Before the night was over, Mike had the girls laughing and really enjoying themselves.  Enough that when I said it was time to go home, they both shook their head no.

Both the girls even made it out on the dance floor while I went to get the car and packed things up.

It was a lovely evening with a simple but very beautiful wedding.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Girls night out

  1. Mike & Sandy says:

    We too enjoyed the night out. Thanks for sharing Quinn and Jenna with us. They are so precious and a joy to spend time with. You are all doing such a wonderful job with them. We were amazed how easily they came to us.
    Great to see you!
    If you need someone, we’re available.

Leave a Reply

