Carving pumpkins

by Michele

On Sunday we decided to carve pumpkins.  We figured our house was already trashed from having about 40 + people in our house the night before for the Amazing Race so why not carve pumpkins in our house too.  Besides it was cold outside so inside just seemed to make sense with little kids.  Jenna and Quinn had a lot of fun moving the pumpkins from one pile to the next in our house.  I was afraid of finding pumpkins in every room but they seemed to know what to do.

I realize that normal people only have one or two pumpkins but since my mom grows them and sells them, we tend to have a plethora of pumpkins which means we need a plethora of people.  And yes everyone is required to carve at least 2 pumpkins.

I don’t know if everyone loves cleaning out the pumpkins because by the look of it, Luke isn’t totally enjoying himself yet.

Last year was the first year we let Luke carve pumpkins with a knife.  He would just carve very big holes in the pumpkin but this year he is getting really good.  He carved a few pumpkins with faces and then the last one, he actually carved his first name in one.  I was pretty impressed.  I need to snap a picture of it which I will do when I have time to dig out the candles.  He has come a long way since last year.

We let Ryan carve pumpkins this year too.  It was a bit scary watching him but he was determined to carve one like everyone else.  He did let us help him out.

I will try to get some pictures up tomorrow of all of our pumpkins with light in them but if it doesn’t happen, just remember I have 4 little kids and lots of things don’t happen any more.  Hope everyone has a great Halloween tomorrow.

 

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carving pumpkins

  1. Doris Yoder (aka Grandma Yoder) says:

    Ah, and you did have fun, I can see. Sorry we Yoder’s (namely me) opted out this year, but I am glad you had others to help you out!

Leave a Reply

