Voting with young kids

by Michele

Yesterday Ted and I went to vote.  I thought that our kids should be present and involved with the process so after school, we all headed down to vote.

On the way Luke informed me that they got to “vote” in school today for President and the best way to eat corn.  Luke voted for Obama and for popcorn.  I asked him why he voted for Obama and he replied because Barak Obama has a cool name.  I guess that is as good as any reason for a 5 year old.

Meanwhile Ryan wanted to get into the conversation so he started saying Barak Obama’s name over and over.  By the time we were out of the car, Ryan was convinced that everyone should be voting for Llama Mama.  He went on to tell everyone in the voting area that they should be voting for Llama Mama.  Now I wonder if Ryan got his wish and everyone voted for Llama Mama would we all be wearing red pjs?  Anyways, the people working got a lot of laughs at our Ryan but we always do when Ryan is involved.  And just for the record, Luke was very annoyed that Ryan could not get Obama’s name right.

And the girls what did they do while we were voting….what they do best…eat.

I think the girls could get used to this type of democracy.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

