Ryan’s special time with Mommy

by Michele

Since we have brought the girls home from China, Ryan went from being the baby of the family to big brother of two younger siblings.  Talk about a shock to the system.  To say he has struggled is an understatement.  Ryan has gotten lost in the shuffle more times then one over the last few months.  Even though Ryan started pre-school this year we were more worried about getting Luke ready and adjusted to all day every day kindergarten.  And since September I think we have had some sort of pre-op/post-op appointment for the girls just about every week.  Sadly to say, Ryan gets handed off to who ever is available to watch him.

Every afternoon I try to get some work done during nap time.  A lot of times, I will tell Ryan to go play by himself so I can get my work done and still have a few minutes to relax before I have to wake the girls up to go get Luke from school.

But every once and a while I get it right, I remember that my baby boy is only 3 and he needs a lot of special time with mommy.  I ask him to help me with my work.  Sure it goes slower and it is a lot messier but he gets special time with mommy.

And trust me cooking with my artistic 3 year old is very messy, he has to sing and dance each cup of ingredient into the mixing bowl but it is becomes more tolerable the more times we bake together.

And the smile is worth the messy (although I really need someone to remind me of that during the process.  I raised my voice a bit once during our cooking sessions and that is all Ryan talked about for the next few days.)

Sometimes we bake together during nap time because we can’t get away.  Ryan loves it.  And sometimes I get someone to watch the girls and we leave the house.  Yesterday, my mom volunteered to watch the girls while Ryan and I started our Christmas shopping.  It was a day filled with a lot of non-stop singing by a certain little boy who was in high heavens because he was on a special day with his mommy.  You should have seen all of the looks we got at Perkins when we went out to eat for lunch (Ryan is in love with the sprinkle pancakes and he let everyone know it).  I know it is hard to get away from your other kids but I think it is something a parent needs to find time to do, have special one-on-one time with each kid.  I seem to forget this a lot but hopefully it will become second nature, to invite Ryan to help me for some special time because he needs that time.  He needs his mommy time.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ryan’s special time with Mommy

  1. Carol Ann Bauman says:

    I remember those days with our kids, and as adults,now, they will recall a special time we had together. I have a reminder in my kitchen that says……..kids don’t always remember what you said, or did, or what gift you gave them. But they do remember the way you made them feel!

Leave a Reply

