Cooking Class

by Michele

Our internet has been down again so I have not been able to post.  They assured me that it would be fixed by last night at 11 PM but I wasn’t going to stay up till then to get on the internet.  I did race to get on this morning to check my fantasy football team and thankfully all is well.

We had a very busy weekend partly because I have a big mouth but we will get to that in a different post.  On Saturday I had signed up for a cooking class at a cooking school in the cities.

 

My class was on the art of Chinese stir-fries.  It was a lot of fun.  I have done a lot of stir-fries before the class just because it is an easy way to get a lot of different veggies in my kids.  At the class I got to cook with a few ingredients I have seen in recipes but kind of avoided them because I didn’t know what they were, where to find them and how to prepare them.  They taught us a few tricks to prepare some of the harder ingredients.  Then we were put into teams and each team got to prepare 5 different recipes.  We started chopping away, measuring out different sauce ingredients.  All along the way we had two cooking students and a chef to answer any of our questions.  I was at a table with two other stay at home moms (although all of their kids were a lot older-think teenagers).  We made a couple of different stir-fries with different sauces, Kung Pao Chicken, Yangzhou Chau Fan and Almond cookies.  When all of our ingredients were ready, we turned on the stove, got out a bunch of woks and cooked away.  Meanwhile, the chef demonstrated Char Sui (Cantonese roast pork) and Char Siu Bao (steamed dumplings made with the Char Sui).  When we were all done, we sat down to eat the meal.  It was awesome.  The best part is as we were cooking all of our dirty dishes just disappeared and were magically cleaned for us.  There was no clean-up by this team of moms.  I walked away with a very fun morning away from my kids, a Le Cordon Bleu apron and a lot of left-overs to share with my family.  I signed up for a few different cooking classes so we will have to wait and see what new fun things I learn at those classes.

If anyone else reading this has some really good Chinese recipes and you don’t mind sharing that would be great.  I am trying to get a good variety of dishes for the girls and for the Chinese New Year celebration.  I know all of the ingredients seem the same but as the chef said, “it’s all in the sauce”.  There is a lot of sauces out there that don’t work and there are a few that do but when you get one to work, the food is oh so good.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking Class

  1. Sounds delicious, I love chinese food; I hope I get to sample some of this sometime….and as you know, I will not be offering my recipes…my contribution consists of opening a “can” of chow mein, cooking some brown rice, throwing on chow mein noodles and soy sauce…and that is it!

  2. I have a whole binder full of Chinese Recipes from Terry Stahl that you’re welcome to borrow! She gave it to us for our wedding. She’s coming to MAKS in Jan. to demo some of them.

Leave a Reply

