2 year check-up

by Michele

Today the girls had their 2 year check-up.  It was a bit late but they needed to recover from their surgeries before they could get some more vaccines.  We are still trying to get them caught up to the American recommendations.  They have some of the vaccines just not all of them.  They do have a few extra that were important to the area they came from like Japanese encephalitis.

Back to the clinic visit, I don’t know what but I think the girls took a happy pill this morning but they were hilarious in the waiting room.  They were running all over the place, climbing anything in sight while giggling uncontrollable.  I didn’t stop them for a few reasons.  One, they rarely ever run, it is hard enough to get them to walk sometimes so it was great to see them get a bit of exercise on their own.  Two, I think everyone in the waiting room/nurse check-in was watching and laughing as well.

When we got to the exam room, Jenna squealed in delight when she found her favorite play toy.  I think this shows how familiar the girls are with exam rooms.

Ok, so she doesn’t use it correctly yet but she loves placing it all over her belly.  I think she has it confused with a stethoscope.  On one of their post-op check-ups, when the doctor was using the stethoscope on Quinn, Jenna did the same motions on her with the blood pressure ball (I don’t really know what it is called).  While Jenna played with the equipment, Quinn continued to climb everything in sight, along with pulling out every drawer.

The girls were really enjoying themselves; however, I was ready to be done.  By the time we were out of there, they had managed to color on the exam table, the step to get up on the table, the wall and my jeans.  I swear I was watching them the whole time but while I was getting one, the other was going a different direction.  The doctor just sat and laughed.  I am glad everyone else was so easily amused with my twins today but I was ready to be home.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

