Emergency Leaf Raking

by Ted

Last Sunday after church, Michele overhead a woman in our church venting to one of her friends, “I just can’t keep up with things anymore.  It’s been so stressful lately.”  Sheri has good reasons to be stressed out.  She is working two jobs while her husband has been in and out of the hospital fighting congestive heart failure.

By the time we had left, Michele had volunteered to bring them a meal and someone else was setup to clean their house.  Later that afternoon during Michele and Sarah Bomsta’s weekly run, they stopped by Sheri’s house.  Before they left they had volunteered to rake up the leaves in Sheri’s yard.

Sarah asked Michele, “So….when do you want to get together to start raking?”  Michele answered, “Uhh…how about in a half hour!??”

Well, just like that we had ourselves an emergency leaf raking situation.

Michele arranged to trade some of our kids for the Bomsta kids, then raced home from her jog to grab all of us.  Before long we had assembled quite the crew of Yoders and Bomstas.

By the end of the afternoon we had a very large leaf pile behind Sheri’s house.  Luke was in charge of stomping the leaf pile down so we could fit more leaves on.  I think Luke really liked climbing up his mountain then rolling back down again.

Several days later I stopped by Sheri’s house to pick up our dishes.  I talked with Charlie (Sheri’s husband) for a while.  As I walked out the door he says, “You are a very lucky man, Ted.”

“Yes, Charlie, I know!!” I said with a grin as the door closed behind me.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

