Cat bite and some randomness

by Michele

Today was a bit interesting.  It all started last Friday when we noticed that Nala, our beloved cat, started acting weird.  By nighttime we noticed that she had some injuries on her behind.  As the weekend progressed, she seemed to get worse.  When I looked at her behind all I saw was open sores.  So this morning I called the vet.  They thought it might be some infected anal glands that might have ruptured.  So after I picked up Luke from school, I headed to the vet with all 4 kids.  Our vet is about a 20 min drive so for 20 minutes I had 2 very loud boys singing to Nala trying to calm her down, 2 girls not really understanding what was going on just that they were suppose to be as loud as possible and one cat scared to death meowing this loud, long meow the whole way there.  Trust me the vet visit didn’t go much better.  The kids were all hipped up so they were all over the place.  But after about 20 minutes of running all over the waiting area and one sedated cat, the vet told us that something had bite Nala, it got infected under the skin so all of the skin fell off.  Yeah, that is why it looks disgusting.  The good news is with some oral antibiotics given to her for the next 1 1/2 weeks, she should be fine.  The vet did say that it would take a month or so until it looks normal again.  I could put on antibiotic cream and it would go faster but I am not sure I want to rub cream all over my cats behind 3-4 times a day for 2 weeks.  Simple oral medicine sounds a lot better to me and will hopefully do the job on it’s own.

Since I don’t think anyone wants to see a picture of Nala’s behind, I thought I would include a picture of my boys activity this evening.  I needed them to do a project together since they seemed to be fighting a bit.

They had to match all of my tubberware to its cover.  I was tired of having my drawer full yet never seemed to have a bottom that fit the top.   

By the end of their little activity, I had about 20 tops that did not have bottoms and 3 bottoms with no top.  They got recycled and now my drawer is cleaned out and I should be able to find what I need.  My kids had a blast talking about different sized circles, squares, rectangles.  I totally recommend this activity.

And the last random tidbit of info tonight, we got our date for the girls next surgery.  It is Jan. 30.  It is two months away which is kind of nice because we can start the pre-ops visits after the holiday season.  I think there is only 2 pre-ops but at least I don’t have to fit them into Dec.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

