Decorating the Christmas Tree

by Michele

I had started decorating the house last weekend.  I even got the Christmas tree up but I did not get anything on it yet.  It was not on the plan for today but I needed a good stress reliever.  I had taken the girls and Ryan to storytime.  Everything was going great until it was time to go home.  Everyone went to get their coats and I started putting them on.  Jenna ended up being last which she decided was not ok.  She threw her coat down on the floor, fell to the floor and started kicking and screaming.  The next 15 minutes involved me walking her back and forth from an empty “time out” room in the library screaming at the top of her lungs to where she threw her coat on the floor.  I was going to wait until she was ready to pick it up and hand it to me so I could put it on.  I think we walked through the library 4 times.  Each time she would stop crying until she saw her coat on the floor which would set her off again and back to the “time-out” room we went.  Maybe she should not have thrown it on the floor the first time.  I am glad someone else was there to watch Ryan and Quinn for me while I took care of Jenna but we finally made it home to have lunch.  Sadly to say, Jenna had another scream fest at the lunch table when I asked her to drink some milk.

Oh well, she is napping now so hopefully she will wake up in a better mood.  I decided during nap time that Ryan and I should do a fun project to help calm down.  I thought that decorating the tree together would be a good idea so out came the decorations and Ryan went to town.

 

Granted, I had to help him a bit because I think he managed to hang 15 things on 3 different branches.  We eventually got everything spread out a bit.  He was pretty proud of his work and was singing non-stop.  And I am a bit more calm now so I would say the project was a success.  (Just don’t critique the placement of the ornaments too much because my 3 year old did a lot of them.)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

