A new level of loudness

by Michele

We have a new level of loudness in the Yoder house.  It all started last Christmas when Ryan got his first drum set as a present from Grandma and Grandpa Yoder.  Doris didn’t know if it was going to be a welcomed present into our house or not but it was a great idea.  Ryan LOVED his new drum set.

DSCF0442 (480x640)

 

I didn’t know how long he would use the drum set but it has seemed to beat the test of time.  In the past year, it has been the center of multiple music concerts that Ryan has put on for me during the day.  It has taken a lot of abuse, enough that a top of one drum has been reduced to scotch tape, the cymbal  banged up enough it won’t stay on the peg and this week, one of the drums snapped completely off.

IMG_7306 (640x427)

In the last few weeks, Ryan has started using the drum set more then the piano again.  In set the momma guilt that maybe I should get him a new one.  Ted and I had already came up with presents for him for Christmas and I didn’t want to add another one to the list so I came up with another idea of how to get him a new drum set.  I knew Ryan had some Birthday money that he had not used yet because he couldn’t find the ‘right’ toy.  We had gone to the store a few times but nothing seemed to spark his interest so I asked him if he wanted a new drum set.  I had seen one in a local store so it would be pretty easy to get.  He looked at the picture on-line and his eyes just lit up.  We counted his money.  He was $12 dollars plus tax short.  I didn’t know if I would be able to find the drum set after Christmas so I told him that we could go buy it and when he could pay it all the way off, he could have it.  Luke said that didn’t seem fair so he said that Ryan could just have $15 of his money, that way he could play it too.  Ryan of coarse loved the idea.  The plan was set, we would head off to Owatonna to get the drum set after school on Thursday.  This gave me something to do that night with the kids since Ted has been gone on a work trip all week.

Well, we were on our way yesterday, we had made it about 1 mile when Luke screamed from the back seat, “MOM, stop the car, Ryan is puking.”  And oh my did he ever.  If you don’t know Ryan, he is a puker, although never in the car.  If you look at him wrong when he is eating, he pukes.  If he laughs to hard, you guessed it.  He used to puke about once every week but he has finally started to out grow it.  Now he pukes about once a month but never in the car.  It took me over an hour to clean everything.  I had to have a family friend come over and watch my kids so I could be outside cleaning the car.  Did I say I am excited for Ted to be home tonight.  One week being a single mom of 4 kids is enough for me.

Anyways, today we made it to the store and guess what we got…..

IMG_7319 (427x640)

 

And oh my it is loud.  Much louder then our old one.  But oh how they love it.  When Ryan plays his instruments or if he is dancing to music, he is very serious but after he finishes his song, the biggest smile fills his face.  It is priceless.

Tonight everyone got a turn at the drum set.  Luke was a bit wild.  Quinn was just too cute.

IMG_7326 (640x427)

And Jenna…

IMG_7320 (640x427)

she decided she liked to sing better which I think is incredible considering she is just starting to talk now.  But it does add to a new kind of loudness in our house.  A good kind.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

