Tropical girls in their first snow

by Michele

My family loves the snow.  Last year when we did not get any snow, we were really bummed.  So when they said we were getting snow on Sunday, we were all a little excited.  While all of us Minnesotans, our girls are from Nanning, China which is the gateway to Vietnam.  Think tropical, very tropical.  I think when we were looking on Weather.com it said that the coldest it ever got in Nanning was around 50F, which was at night.  Now I don’t know if you remember a picture we shared of our girls when we were still waiting to get them but China had sent us this picture.

4Fully dressed in their snow get up, ready to go.  However, Ted and I went back to check the actual temp for the day these pictures were taken, drum roll please…..the temp was between 50-60F.  We really questioned how these tropical girls would do in Minnesotan weather.  It made me even more nervous when Jenna completely freaked out when a cold wind hit her face the few days in November that it was cold.  But yesterday when the snow was perfect for making snowmen and snowball fights, Luke and Ryan wanted a snowball fight right after church before we had lunch so with out snowpants or proper snow mittens…

IMG_7421 (466x640)

The snowball wars began.  Notice Ted is taking pictures and volunteered to make lunch so that he didn’t have to be the target.  Oh well, a few of the youth group members down at church had already gotten me with a few snowballs so I was already wet, what is a few more.  Our girls decided to follow us out into the yard too so how did they do?

IMG_7413 (457x640)

This little girl embraced snowball fighting.  In fact Jenna was all about throwing snowballs.  The boys quickly taught her to throw them only at mommy and not at each other.

IMG_7416 (640x452)I tried to get them to throw snowballs at our neighbor but they all seemed a bit hesitant.  A few made their way to John but I stayed the primary target.

IMG_7402 (640x376)

I did throw a few back and I did get lucky a few times but my aim is not the best (I told the kids not to aim for the head so where do you think I hit Luke?).

IMG_7406 (640x504)

Ted did get out with the kids after lunch but he didn’t get into the snowball fighting, instead he did this with the kids.

IMG_7437 (640x418)

Meet snowman and snowkitty.   And what about Miss Quinn?  She is a bit more hesitant in the snow which surprises me since she has always been the more adventurous one.  She did make it out but she tended to watch the action.  I did get a picture of her outside with a smile on her face.

IMG_7399 (640x427)

I think my tropical babies will grow to love the snow as much as us which will be one less worry for this momma.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tropical girls in their first snow

  1. Holly says:

    Kaitlyn is from Guangxi. We came home to piles and piles of snow in February. I wondered what she must think of this strange white world. She LOVED it. She stayed out with the big kids a lot longer than I did. 🙂
    I’m so glad to hear that your girls are adjusting so well.

Leave a Reply

