Cleaning lady and Play-dough

by Michele

I know I mentioned this before but we got a cleaning lady right before we went to pick up Jenna and Quinn.  It was the best decision we made because instead of spending hours cleaning up the house, we got to spend our time as a family adjusting to the new changes.  Well a week before Christmas, Ryan was asking to play with play-dough.  It is something that I think most kids like, but personally, I really dislike playing with it.  It gets everywhere, the colors get mixed together and then how do you know which jar to put it in.  It is a mess.  Usually our kids only get to play with play-dough when Doris, Ted’s mom, is in town.  They always ask when she is coming so they can play play-dough.  Anyways, I figured we have tons of play-dough and my cleaning lady was coming the same day so why not.  Well, I started getting out the play-dough and Lisa, our cleaning lady, jumped for joy.  She loves play-dough and never gets to play any more.  In popped a good idea by me (I realize some other moms would probably not agree it was a good idea but, I thought it was a great idea).  I asked Lisa if she would play with my kids and the play-dough while I have some quiet time and clean my house.  She of course would have to clean up the play-dough mess.  She jumped at the chance so I went upstairs to clean and she started in with the kids.

IMG_7503 (640x427)My kids had a blast, Lisa had a blast.  They mixed colors (something that drives me crazy) and mixed some more colors.  They squashed it and cut it and smashed it.  They invented and imagined.

IMG_7506 (640x427)And when it was all said and done, my house was clean, the kids had fun creating, and most importantly the play-dough was cleaned up and not by me.

IMG_7507 (640x427)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleaning lady and Play-dough

  1. This is so funny….and brilliant!
    Sounds like a win, win, win…3-way… (you, kids, cleaning lady)!

    Doris

  2. Joy says:

    Sounds like a great switch to me! I don’t particularly care for mixed play-doh either. Our girls acctually have open access to our play-doh — they just know that they can only have one color at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

