Roller Coaster Called Life

by Michele

Over the last year I’ve learned that life can be a roller coaster of a ride.

It has its ups….

It has its downs…

It will turn you upside down and inside out…

It’s a ride like no other, but when it’s over and the coaster slows to a stop, you’re left with nothing but smiles.

IMG_7666 (427x640)

My most recent roller coaster started as we filled out adoption paper work, filed medical reports, did background checks and on and on.  We clickety-clanked our way to the top of the first hill.

Clickety-clank…

Clickety-clank…

With each new paper that was filed, the suspense grew until I could almost taste it.  At long last, we reached the top and the real adventure began.

Hello Quinn and Jenna.

Now I know we all get to ride our own roller coasters from time to time – whether we want to or not.  It is easy to wonder: Where will this ride take me?  Do I have what it takes to do this?  What happens if I don’t?

IMG_7657 (640x427)

No matter what happens, I’ve always been surprised and amazed how God provides and leads me through each situation.  Especially, when I don’t know how to do it on my own.

IMG_7658 (640x427)

He will show us such delight that you don’t even know why you doubted and worried in the first place -although you know we will probably be doubting again in a day or two…humans.

IMG_7654 (640x427)

God will always give us what we need to get through our roller coaster rides of life.  At least that is if we will just open up and rely on Him.

IMG_7659 (640x427)

It is the only way to have true joy and peace.

IMG_7661 (640x427)

And hope.  Hope that we will succeed.

IMG_7660 (640x427)

I know before we adopted, those few families who had adopted before told us that it is hard, a different kind of hard then having biological kids.  A kind of hard that will test you in every way.  I would say I have to agree.  We have made it through a lot of trials these last 6 months, but I can’t always say that we made it through very gracefully.  Some of these trials I think we only made it through because the sun set that night and rose the next morning bringing a new day.

I have started a new Bible study at church and I hope this will help me to again rely on Him in the weeks to come…..  give me patience for the girls’ temper tantrums…..give me wisdom for how to parent Ryan…..give me strength to put one foot in front of the other….And at the end of the day I pray that this ride will end just like every roller coaster I’ve ridden where I end up safe and sound and I have a great big smile on my face – treasuring each hilltop, valley, loop-de-loop, and curve.  May there be no regrets.

IMG_7651 (640x427)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roller Coaster Called Life

  1. Rhonda Johnson says:

    Thanks for your honest sharing. Praying for you along the ride!

  2. Kristina says:

    Thank you for your wisdom. Needed this today!

  3. Katie L. says:

    Thank you so much for posting this, I needed some encouragement

Leave a Reply

