Bye-bye Sippy Cup

by Michele

It has been a while since I last posted.  Life has been pretty slow around here with not much happening.  We were trying to keep our schedule open to allow the girls time at home to recover. We just started taking them out of the house and they are very excited to be on the go again.  I think their lip is still pretty tender but it doesn’t seem to bother them.

I do have a small story to tell, right when we got home from the hospital we ran into a bit of a dilemma.  The girls were drinking out of a modified sippy cup.  Since cleft babies can not suck, we had to take a power drill and drill bigger holes in the mouth piece so the liquid would just flow out.  Before the sippy cup they had bottles with the nipple ends cut off.  Everything tended to make a mess because if you tip the bottle/cup, it would just spill.  When we came home from the hospital, the girls would take a drink from their sippy cup.  The top part of the mouth piece would rub up against their freshly formed lip.  We were afraid that they would end up breaking some stitches so Ted decided now was the time to move them over to regular cups.  I was not on board.  We had tried a little while earlier and all they did was tip the cup upright like they did their bottle or sippy cup.  They expected it to slowly flow into their mouth.  However, with a regular cup, it just goes all over your face.  I didn’t know how we were going to teach them not to do this.  We had been giving them water on and off for the last few months and it always ends the same way, up goes the cup, tip it upside down, water all over their face, cloths, table, floor,etc.

Ted’s idea….their face hurts, they are not going to tip it upright, therefore drinking out of the cup the correct way.  Again, I will say..I WAS NOT ON BOARD.  I did not want to deal with the mess, I did not want to deal with the girls getting frustrated.

Well, I am glad to say, I was wrong.  Ted’s idea worked perfectly.  They now drink out of a regular cup with out spilling.  They picked up the cup like they were pros, not once over tipping the cup to spill onto their face/clothes/surroundings.  I will say it for the record again…Yes, Ted was right and I was wrong.  I am glad he dealt with my silence temper tantrum and stuck with his idea.

IMG_7729 (640x427)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Cleft lip and palate, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

