Skiing

by Ryan

Yesterday, Mommy and Daddy took me out for my first ever ski trip.  Mommy and Daddy kept asking me if I wanted to go.  But, I couldn’t make up my mind.  One time I would shout, “Yay!!  We’re going skiing!”  The next time I would mumble, “I don’t want to go skiing!”  Eventually, they decided to take me anyways.

I couldn’t believe how big the hill was when we arrived.  There were people everywhere. Some were riding on chairs way up in the sky and others were zooming down the hill with long things stuck on their feet.  Mommy, Daddy, and Luke seemed very excited, but I was starting to get worried…

Everyone else had gone skiing before.  Everyone else knew how to ride the chairs way up in the sky.  Everyone else knew how to come zooming down the hill…but not me.  I wonder if Daddy knows I haven’t done this before?  Finally, I couldn’t hold it in anymore.

“Daddy, I don’t know how to ski,”  I confessed in my saddest voice.

“Don’t worry, Ryan, I’ll help you,” Daddy answered.  Well, at least Daddy didn’t seem worried.  Maybe this wasn’t as hard as it looked.  Several minutes later, Daddy put some boots on me that made it nearly impossible to walk.  Then he strapped skies on me.  Now I really couldn’t move.  That’s when I knew I should have stayed home with the girls.

But then, surprisingly, things started getting better.  Daddy and I hopped on the the chair lift or elevator as Luke liked to call it.  Now this was fun.  We road high up into the air. We could see for miles.  I wasn’t scared in the least.  I was tucked in close to Daddy’s side and I had a bird’s eye view of the entire place.  Now this was the life!

DSCF2196 (640x480)

The ride down was even more amazing!!  I was a little wobbly at first, but I just had to hold on tightly to Daddy’s arms.  Together, we zoomed down the hill, just like everyone else.

DSCF2205 (640x480)
DSCF2201 (640x490)

Brett came along too.  He is a really good skier, so he helped Luke down the big hills just like Daddy was helping me.

DSCF2206 (640x480)

Later in the day, when we got a little braver everyone went over one of the big jumps, even Mommy!!  Brett and Daddy helped me and Luke fly really high when we zoomed off the top.  But we never fell.  It was lots of fun.

DSCF2209 (640x512)

Eventually, I got tired of helping Daddy ski.  I was ready to try skiing on my own.  We found a small little hill and I watched Luke ski down the small slope then come sliding to a stop on his butt.  Mommy and Daddy decided to let me go down on my own too!  It was lots of fun….well at least it started that way…  Then all of the sudden….WHAM!!  I was flat on my face!

DSCF2210 (640x480)

Actually, it didn’t hurt that much.  I’m pretty tough you know.  But I was scared.  I didn’t like falling.  Daddy and Mommy quickly scooped me up out of the snow.  Daddy said that lots of people fall, but then they just get right back up and keep on going.  I wasn’t so sure.  As we sat in the snow I watched a few people zoom by.  “Daddy, they didn’t fall.”

“No not this time,” he said.  “Remember, you’ve skied the whole day, until now, without falling either.  But everyone falls once in a while.  And when they do, they just get right back up and try again.”

After a few minutes we were all ready to go again.  I decided to stick closer to Daddy after that.  And I also started to watch some of the other skiers from the chair lift.  Sure enough, Daddy was right.  I did see some of them fall. It was pretty funny.  But they always got right back up and kept on going, just like I did.

All in all, I had lots of fun on my first day skiing.  I can’t wait ’till we all get to go again.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skiing

  1. joy says:

    Such fun! I’m a wee bit jealous…

  2. Doris says:

    Way to go Ryan! Your daddy was three when he first went skiing. His story is pretty much the same as yours! Keep up the good work.

  3. Sue Coy says:

    I hope you realize how lucky you are to have such good parents. I wish everyone could say that. Time spent together is so important. Enjoy every day.

Leave a Reply

