Raising money

by Michele

Luke’s school is participating in Recess Relay this week which is part of Relay for Life.  I received a letter from school saying that they will be talking about what things help you stay healthy.  I am not sure what they are all doing because we still can not get Luke to talk much about what happened at school.  I never could when he was in pre-school either.  Usually I learn about things a few weeks after the fact when he randomly starts talking about the event.  But part of their event was to help raise some money for Relay for Life.  I am sort of against making little kids fund raise because I think they are too little to understand what they are doing.  Needless to say, I thought this event was a good time to start with Luke.

We talked about why they need to raise money, how is it going to be used, and why it is important to help out others.  We set our goal at asking 5 people.  When we got to the first house, you could tell Luke was nervous but he wanted to do his part so when the door opened, he started his little speech.  Something about people being sick needing help, trying to stay healthy and paying Uncle Josh to make drugs.  Well, not exactly how we had practiced but Luke sort of got the point across with a little help from me.   Then out came the wallet and he got money.  Luke’s face lit up.  He told me if it was that easy to get money, he wanted to ask everyone on the block.  Hmmmm…  I stopped him after 8 people (a few were phone calls to grandparents).   When we were done, we had 1 happy little boy who knows he helped someone out there who needs help.

IMG_8015 (427x640)

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raising money

  1. Ruth Vokmann says:

    You have a good idea to start those kids out young to help others. At Christmas time I get a
    catalog from Vision World asking to buy clean water, goats, chickens, cows, etc,. for people in
    foreign countries. I always ask my two granddaughters (7&8) to help pick something out that
    they think would help other children. This year, Anna, whom you met and is Tara’s Chinese
    daughter, chose clean water. I always give the donation for them, but at least they get the
    idea of helping someone else. I then get a thank you which I share with the girls. (I have also
    done this with my grandsons, which of course, has been discontinued, but I hope that when
    they get older, they will also help other people.

Leave a Reply

