Scream-fest continues…sort of

by Michele

Well, after a week and a half of Quinn screaming uncontrollably during the night, I decided to take her in to see the doctor.  The last time she consistently screamed through the night like this was right when we brought her home.  This was before she had her ear tubes put in so I was praying that there was an issue with the tubes because that would be an easy fix.  Sure enough, one tube is plugged which caused an ear infection.  She is on her third day of antibodies and we are giving her Tylenol to help when she goes to sleep.  Last night Quinn only whimpered for 1 hour.  Such an improvement.  I feel like I was kind of a bad parent for not realizing the ear issue for a week and a half but there were no symptoms, no fever, no leaking fluid like what Jenna had a few weeks earlier, no rubbing of the ear just hysterical screaming in the middle of the night.  Oh well.  On a side note, Jenna is not liking the fact that Quinn is getting something she is not.  Jenna practically has a temper tantrum every time Quinn gets medicine.  Last night when we went in to comfort Quinn, Jenna decided she did not like getting ignored so she belted out her own frustrations which got her sent downstairs.  She only quieted down after Ted gave her some medicine that she did not really need.  I think tonight I am going to make some fake medicine so that when Quinn gets the real stuff, Jenna can have her fake stuff and we can all get back to sleep faster.

I should write a disclaimer on this, Ted is getting up in the middle of the night and dealing with the girls because I am sick again.  I completely lost my voice on Sunday through Tuesday.  Everybody that hears me “talk” laughs.  I don’t see the humor in it because I feel so miserable.  But today I finally have a voice back, granted I do sound like a teenage boy going through puberty but it is a voice.  Parenting 4 kids all day long without a voice is hard so I will take whatever sound I can get.  And just so you know, my kids now respond to clapping and snapping.  Hopefully I will start feeling better soon so I can take some pictures.  We have some pretty big news around here.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

