Great-grandparents

by Michele

When we were up at Ted’s parents house for Easter, all of our kids got a chance to hang out with their Great Grandparents Sam and Frieda.  Jenna jumped at the chance to sit on someone’s lap and cuddle.  She even conned Great Grandpa Sam into reading some books to her.  Although this was after he got on the floor and chased/tickled her into endless giggles.

IMG_8251

Seeing my kids with their Great Grandparents, Sam and Frieda, makes me think of all of the memories of mine.  I only knew one, my Dad’s Grandma, Great Grandma Punt.  By the time she died, she was 102, blind and in a wheelchair but I remember when she was younger (and by younger I mean 90) and played games with us.

My favorite memory of her was when I was spending the week with my Grandparents.  My brothers and dad had gone home (which was about 3 hours away).  One evening we went over to Great Grandma Punt’s house and played Skip-Bo.  My Grandpa and Great Grandma were a team and I was paired with my Grandma.  I remember Great Grandma Punt cheating by telling my Grandpa what to do and playing cards out of her hand when it was Grandpa’s turn.  Now I am all about being fair and playing by the rules and I remember having a hay-day about what was going on.  Grandma Betty kicked me under the table with her foot, gave me an understanding look and said that when I was 90 I had earned the right to cheat at Skip-Bo too.

What a great gift Grandparents and Great Grandparents are to all of us.  They hold the secrets of our history and without them the world we know today wouldn’t be the same.   They always seem to have just the right mix of knowledge, love, wisdom and spunk to keep us younger generation in check.  I hope that when I’m 90, I’ll have lived my life well enough that I’ll have earned the right to do whatever I want – including cheating at Skip-Bo.

 

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great-grandparents

  1. dalo2013 says:

    A bit serendipitous I found your blog today. Earlier today, my screen saver showed a photo of my twin sister sitting on my late Grandfather’s lap reading “Jack & the Beanstalk”. A photo that made me feel absolutely wonderful (although I do remember being a bit jealous of this ritual they had over the years)… It made me feel wonderful as one of the great stories in our family is when we would arrive at their home, and her first independent action would be to climb onto my grandfather’s lap and ask to be read. Grandparents make the world go around for their grandkids.

  2. Gennie says:

    I have read a few good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how so much effort you put to create one of these
    excellent informative web site.

Leave a Reply

