Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to all of the fathers out there.  I know I am a day late at getting the post up but it seems that we were on the go all weekend.  Our Sundays are usually pretty full with church in the morning and Youth group in the evenings.  So this is coming to to you a day late.

Our boys were in a VBS program this past week at a church that is closing their doors at the end of this month.  Even though we don’t go to that church, on Saturday we went down and helped them clean some things up from their week long VBS.  They were going to give us a lot of their decorations because we are doing the same theme for our VBS later this summer.  Ted and I are not in charge of VBS but it was something we could do to help our church leaders out.  As we helped them take down their decorations, they told stories after stories of things that had happened in their church; memories that fill the walls.    It is a beautiful church and I hope some thing will be able to fill it’s walls with joy again.

In the afternoon we decided to do part of our father’s day celebration by going on a bike ride.  We loaded up all of our bikes and headed over to Mankato.  There was a part of a bike trail that Ted had not been on so we decided we would explore that area.  The boys and I had packed a picnic to put in the bike stroller.  So off we went.  It was really pretty along the river.  We ate our lunch outside of a bandstand which had live music.  We must have worn out the kids because at the end of our trip, the kids were starting to get very emotional so we headed home and got them to bed.

On Sunday, we went to church and afterward Ted had said he wanted to walk in a local parade.  A church that our church supports was having a float to let everyone know when their services were.  So with bikes, strollers, and freeze pops in hand we headed out.

IMG_9033I can’t say I was excited to go, I was kind of dreading it but I actually had a lot of fun.  So I am glad that I listened to Ted, the kids had a lot of fun too.  IMG_9035I am not sure if the girls enjoyed it.  They were tired and hot.  They stayed in the stroller the whole time, I did not want to chance a temper tantrum in route by taking them out of the stroller where they were content.

IMG_9034

After the parade we came home and played around the house.  Our kids started playing with some balloons they got the day before from an incredible lady who is very sick with cancer.  We heard that she probably only had a week or two to live so we went to talk with her on Saturday before the bike ride.  I know our boys were a little scared at first when we went to visit Sue but once we got toys out, they started giggling and laughing.  The laughter helped bring a smile to Sue’s face so I am happy I had brought all the kids with me on the visit.  Anyways, Sue had given them some balloons on Saturday but Ted didn’t get to blowing them up until Sunday.  They looked so fun so I quickly grabbed my camera.

IMG_9039

So what were my kids laughing at???  Well, Ted of coarse.  After a long weekend of being so busy, running from one activity to the next, he still had the time and energy to act like a dork so that I could get a good picture.  Thanks Ted.  We ended the night with youth group at our house where some of the older kids stayed later to talk.  We talked about what is important in a girlfriend/boyfriend/spouse.  And as the kids were saying things that were important to them, what they were looking for in their mate, I couldn’t help thinking that Ted has so many of those qualities.  They had brought up a few that I remember thinking I want that in the person I dated yet after I met Ted, I realized they weren’t important anymore because Ted had better qualities, some that I am still learning about today as he deals with our screaming girls night after night by himself because I can’t.  His patience and gentleness are endless as he softly sings and rocks Jenna to comfort her.  I hope as our kids get older and as we struggle to parent them through their teen years that they remember how much Ted loves them.  So Ted and all the other father’s out there who are trying to do the best they can, Happy Father’s Day.  I hope you were able to enjoy a  fun filled day with your kids.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Father’s Day

  1. Doris says:

    Nice post Michele. I love that last picture of the four kids with the balloons. If you sent me the full, non-condensed picture via email, I would make a print for framing. We are looking forward to seeing you soon up here for your summer visit.

Leave a Reply

