When you are a single parent for 2 weeks

Ted has been out of town for the last two weeks for work.  I have come to the conclusion that I was not meant to be a single mom at all.  So this past week, I headed up to Ted’s parents house, just me and 4 kids on a 5 hour trip 1 way…what could go wrong.

My kids travel really well so it really wasn’t a big deal.  We got up there in pretty good time (around 6 1/2 hours with stops) but the kids had a lot of built up energy so we went for a long walk.  The kids loved going down or maybe I should say up all the different 4-wheeler trails.

IMG_4415

We ended up on the road after a while and the girls quickly bonded with anyone who would hold their hand.

IMG_4421

On our walk we found wild red raspberries to eat and lots of wild flowers in bloom.  I was trying to get Jenna to look at me but sometimes that is just too much to ask for her.

IMG_4419

The next few days were spent playing in the water.  When Ted asked them how much they swam, Luke replied, “Oh not that much only like an hour each day.”  For your information, they went swimming 4 hours the first day and 3 hours the second.  They were swimming from the dock, out through the weeds to the boat and back, they would jump off the boat and dock, they had water gun wars.  Trust me they had plenty of time in the water.

One of the things that Luke and Ryan did special last year when we were in China getting the girls was to have picnics on the other side of the lake.  They would usually drive the 4-wheelers over to the other side but this year we had too many kids so Luke and I walked while everyone else rode the pontoon.  Luke happily waited at the end of the dock by the picnic area to help everyone get on land.  I think he just wanted to let everyone know he was first.

IMG_4461

Doris packed a great lunch to eat over in a grassy area.  My kids happily ate all of the cookies and cupcakes.  Don’t worry I am still the mean mom that makes my kids eat veggies even on a picnic.  We packed yellow beans to eat too.

IMG_4467

We also spent a lot of time sitting around in the backyard.  We usually have a very strict ‘no throwing sand’ policy but Ryan seems to get away with everything, that and I thought it made a good picture.

IMG_4427

As I was snapping away at Ryan, I looked behind me and found Barney watching us contently.  He is Ted’s aunts dog.  He is huge but such a fun lovable dog.

IMG_4443

Sleeping was an issue this past week.  I don’t know if it was because we were away from home or it was the second week of daddy being gone but the first two nights at Grandpa and Grandma Yoder’s house were very rocky.  On the second night, I told Doris I was done at 2:15 am and that it was time for her to bond with her grandchildren.  She graciously switched with me so I could get some sleep.  Sadly to say, Doris was pretty sick the next day, not just because of the lack of sleep but she also had a cold and staying up with my girls for 2 hours did not help her cause.

On our last day there, we stopped at Great Grandpa Sam and Great Grandma Frieda’s house.  The kids loved it because of all the fun games Great Grandpa Sam comes up with.

IMG_4479

I really hope when I get old I can interact with young kids as energetically as Sam does.

IMG_4483

And we couldn’t leave the house with a little time sitting with Great Grandma Frieda as she talked with the girls. Even with the sleep issues and the runny noses/sore throats, it was worth the trip to hang out with Grandparents.  Thanks for having us.

IMG_4487

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

